Week Twenty-five: Kathy Benson

 Kathy Benson - Week 25 - Photo

What’s the best/worst gift you’ve ever given/received?

 

Ironically I wrote about this last week on my blog, as part of my monthly Time Warp Tuesday writing exercise and blog hop. Since the holiday season is an especially busy time of year, I am adapting that post, along with highlights from a previous one in which I talked about some of the best gifts I’ve ever received.

I have written a number of posts about special gifts that my family and I have received over the years on my blog. I did this a lot in the months after Molly was born and died in 2008, as I wanted to share how we were coping with our grief and loss through highlighting the thoughtfulness and generosity of some of our loved ones. I wanted to write about what these gifts, in honor and memory of our baby girl, meant to me and how having them in our home was helping me to heal.

The best gift(s) I’ve ever received came from Bob, our children and my parents for my 35th birthday in March 2010. They were four custom-made beautiful (even more so than I ever imagined they could be) bracelets in honor of my two living children, my daughter in Heaven and the three angel babies we lost in December 2004 (due in July 2005), August 2005 (due in April 2006) and November 2005 (due in June 2006).

I hadn’t been that excited about a piece/pieces of jewelry since Bob and I went shopping for my engagement ring 11 years earlier. Amy (Lisa’s sister from Custom Bracelets By Lisa) sent me the above “final draft” picture a few weeks before my birthday. The day I received the photo, via email, I carried it around the house with me and couldn’t stop looking at it. It reminded me of how I couldn’t stop looking at my engagement ring after Bob proposed to me on March 15, 1999.

I wanted bracelets like that for a while, to honor each of our children (those with us and those watching over us) and to be able to wear proudly on my wrists. A lot of bereaved parents that I had met back then (and still many that I know today) have tattoos as a way to keep their deceased children’s memory close to them always. I considered getting a tattoo in honor and memory of our Molly and Babies Benson. But in the end decided that I preferred these bracelets, which I could wear as often as I chose to.

I worked closely with Amy, the designer, who custom-made these bracelets for my family to give me to celebrate my 35th birthday and couldn’t be happier, to this day, with how they turned out. I wear all four often and every time I look at them, I think about how blessed I am and how important each of our children are to me, no matter how long they were and/or are with us in this lifetime.

Earlier this month I attended a holiday party with some of my colleagues from where I teach group fitness classes in our neighborhood. One of my fellow instructors commented on how beautiful my bracelets are and asked me about them. I love when that happens and appreciate the opportunity to tell about whom each bracelet represents/why they are so special to me.

What’s the best/worst gift you’ve ever given/received?

________________________________

Kathy Benson is a bereaved and blessed mom, writer and group fitness instructor trying to live mindfully and find joy in the journey after dealing with secondary infertility and loss for five years. She lives in Chicago, Illinois with her husband and two living children.

Kathy blogs at Bereaved and Blessed. You can also follow Kathy on Twitter @BereavedBlessed and her Facebook page.

One thought on “Week Twenty-five: Kathy Benson

  1. Pingback: Thursday’s Voice: Weeks Twenty-Five & Twenty-Six

Leave a Reply

