Week Thirty-two: Peter Combs

Photo on 2011-12-05 at 13.34

If you could know the answer to any question, besides “What is the meaning of life?”, what would it be?

This is a very tough question. Certainly there are many questions about my childhood for which I would like an answer. Like, why did my parents hurt my sister with wood burners, barb-wire and baseball bats? Why did my dad rape her? Why did they choose to isolate my siblings and I while withholding any semblance of an education? Why did I have to watch helplessly as my family disintegrated into nothingness? Why did everyone stand back and watch for twenty years, not lifting a finger or uttering a word in objection until it was suddenly popular to do so and much too late to make a difference? Why did so much bad happen within one childhood?

I’d like an answer to these questions, no doubt about it. But I know there is not an answer, and even if there were I highly doubt it would ever be good enough to justify such actions. The truth is, there isn’t an answer, only endless questions.

I think the question for which I would like an answer would be two-fold. One being, how do continue to move past all of this? And then, how do I help others who share similar experiences?

On a daily basis I put forth quite a bit of effort to undo what my parents began. Be it trying to ditch old thought patterns that creep into my mind. Or the amount of time that I spend during my lunch breaks and evenings trying to solve math problems that any fifth grader could ace in the hopes of one day going to college. I know that small steps will eventually add up to something much larger, but sometimes it feels like I am walking on a treadmill, and never actually moving forward.

I guess some part of me wants to know if I will ever actually break through to the other side of this. Will there ever be a day in which I am not academically behind my peers? Will there come a point in time in which hospitals won’t remind me of the time my sister attempted suicide? Will I ever be able to visit the courthouse without feeling judged or freaking out upon having to ride the elevator with a jury pool? Will there ever come a day when I can carry on normal conversation without wondering at which point I will have to creatively circumvent my entire childhood so I can continue to be  viewed as “normal” and “well-adjusted”? All the while never really allowing myself to get too close to anyone on account of the distance I have to maintain.

I really didn’t want to write to this prompt because I knew that these were the questions that really burn within me; and sometimes (most of the time) I get so fed up with everything boiling down to actions my parents took when I was a child. I want my life to be about me. Not them. Whenever I write about my past and how it affects me today, I feel dirty and self-indulgent. It all feels like a never-ending cycle that I want out of. But when it’s all said and done, this is my reality. And regardless of whether or not I like it, it’s where I’m at right now.

____________________

Peter Combs is a 28 year old husband, writer and former foster child. He currently lives with his wife, Renee, in Atlanta, Georgia. Peter is the author of the blog Home.

One thought on “Week Thirty-two: Peter Combs

Leave a Reply

