Week Forty-one: Brian B. Baker

BBaker

List the five people you’d like to meet and why

When I saw this prompt my brain started going crazy with excitement.

There are people I would like to meet, but they’re not your usual type of people, they’re literary characters. Let’s start with my favorite literary character.

Lestat de Lioncourt from Anne Rice’s books:

The first time I read Anne Rice’s Interview with the Vampire I fell in love with Lestat. He’s not the main character of the book, but his power and the way he acted, the control he seemed to have over the other characters and his eternal struggle with who he was is something I could relate to. Lestat is the character I would most like to talk to, but there are others.

Sherlock Holmes:

Holmes is the one character, when I read him I wanted to be a writer. I love everything about him and the world he lives in. I would very much like to sit down and have tea with him. He is extremely intelligent and I find this alluring in a way that, when I read the books, I hadn’t felt with any other character. I read Sherlock Holmes before Anne Rice’s Lestat. I remember reading The Hound of the Baskervilles for the first time and loved the book, I was in third grade.

Paul Atreides from Dune by Frank Herbert:

This character is from Dune by Frank Herbert and I found the entire book intriguing in a way that I’d never felt with Science Fiction before. He has a Messiah type feeling to him. Frank Herbert’s writing is dry compared to a lot of current Sci-Fi writers, but I loved the book, and my current WiP is kind of like Paul, though she is different in other ways.

Kaladin Stormblessed from The Stormlight Archive by Brandon Sanderson:

This is one of the characters from The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson. Early in the book we discover many things about Kaladin and his past, but along the way we also learn who he used to be and what happened to him as a young man. He is one of my favorite characters from Fantasy and every time I look at the book on my shelf I get excited about what will happen in the next book.

John Carter from Edgar Rice Burrough’s books:

I read this after the movie came out. He is one of my favorite characters now though. Like Paul Atreides, John Carter feels a lot like the character from my current WiP. Which is weird because I started writing it before I’d read the books or heard anything about the movie. But there are similarities between the John Carter, Paul Atreides and Devin. I posted a section from my book last Friday on The Bleeding Inkwell.

I love each of these characters for different reasons and each of them hold a place in my heart as some of my favorite literary characters.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

One thought on “Week Forty-one: Brian B. Baker

Leave a Reply

