Week Forty-three: Amanda Kasper

IMG_4071

What did you do growing up that got you into trouble?

To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best,

night and day, to make you everybody else

means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight;

and never stop fighting.

~e.e. cummings

Well, a long time ago, I shared the story about the grape juice. The funny thing is, I punished myself. I wasn’t actually punished by my parents. I think they were so surprised at my self discipline that they realized they dare not interfere.

My whole life, I’ve been accused of being far too hard on myself. Setting the bar unattainably high, and beating myself up when I don’t quite reach it. I set high goals. I have big dreams. I was born to do great things. I want to change lives.

My parents, sensing this about me, rarely got involved in the punishment process. I was a really really good kid. Straight laced. I didn’t drink until my second semester of college. I never snuck out, I never missed curfew, I never did drugs or smoked cigarettes; I was a straight A student. The editor-in-chief of the high school yearbook. I was a member of National Honor Society, Student Council, and Class Board, each of my 4 years in high school.

In truth, and I’m not quite sure if I should be proud, or embarrassed of this, I didn’t do anything growing up that got me into trouble.

____________________

Amanda Kasper is a writer, reader, quote lover, CASA advocate, and non-profit believer, seeking space as a lifelong learner, passionate lover, and irreplaceable friend. Amanda tweets at @AKasper513 and blogs over at “& this I believe”

One thought on “Week Forty-three: Amanda Kasper

Leave a Reply

