Week Forty-five: Kathy Benson

45

Write about anything.

Throughout my life I have struggled to accept and make peace with the fact that not everyone I encounter is going to like me.

I often wish I didn’t care so much about what other people think, but I do.

When I realize that for whatever reason someone in my life doesn’t seem to like me, I find it hard to understand.

I try to treat others as I want to be treated and always have good intentions.

For these reasons, among others, it baffles me why some people don’t love, care about and appreciate me for who I am, the way most of my friends and family do.

That said, I get that sometimes our personalities just clash with others’ and we aren’t going to click with everyone we meet.

I also understand that the different values we have and interests we cultivate factor in to how we may or may not be able to build meaningful, or even just positive connections, with others.

I recently came across this quote for the first time and it has helped me to make peace with having people in my life who don’t seem to care for me:

“You have enemies? Good. That means you’ve stood up for something, sometime in your life.” ~ Winston Churchill

I am still not completely comfortable and at peace with accepting that not everyone in my life is going to love, or even like me, but thinking about Churchill’s words helps and I am making progress in my efforts.

Does it bother you when you know someone(s) in your life doesn’t like you? How do you deal with it?

This post originally appeared on my blog in November 2011.

________________________________

Kathy Benson is a bereaved and blessed mom, writer and group fitness instructor trying to live mindfully and find joy in the journey after dealing with secondary infertility and loss for five years. She lives in Chicago, Illinois with her husband and two living children.

Kathy blogs at Bereaved and Blessed. You can also follow Kathy on Twitter @BereavedBlessed and her Facebook page.

3 thoughts on “Week Forty-five: Kathy Benson

  1. Pingback: Spring Shed: Week Eight

  2. Pingback: Week Forty-six: Kathy Benson | The Today Voice

  3. Pingback: Thursday’s Voice: May

Leave a Reply

