Week One: Nick French

If your life were a television show what kind of show would it be? Who are the characters?

If I were lucky enough to have a television show based on my life thus far, I can guarantee that it would be interesting. Let us take a dip into my pool of life and see what this story would have in store…

I grew up in a sprawling community with a population of about 250,000 called the Tri-Cities. Three cities divided by three rivers. The Tri-Cities is what I would call a perfect place to grow up, learn the values of life, and get into some trouble. The nearby mountains, rivers, and lakes make for a great place to raise a family. I grew up with, played sports, and did everything with the same group of friends all the way through high school. I went through a tough phase in my teens but was rescued by my high school sweetheart who is now my wife. I gave up a baseball scholarship to join the Air Force. I did this so we could start our life together, and see the world; however, we ended up being stationed in Wichita, Kansas. At this point, the television show, my life, would have to be a fish out of water story. We went from mountains, lakes, rivers, valleys, and grass, to flat, no elevation, small rivers, manmade reservoirs, and tornados. Not really what either of us had in mind. I really have come to appreciate what I had “back home”. Now that my wife and I are about 2 weeks from having our first baby, we both really want to return home to raise our family around grandparents, aunts, uncles and friends.

If I could choose any actor to play the role of myself in this television show I would have to pick Devon Sawa. He was in films such as Final Destination, Idle hands, Slackers, and Wild America. The reason for this choice is because while I was watching Slackers the other night, I realized his character not only shares the same hair color as me, but I could easily fit myself into his roles. He plays the smooth, blonde, funny smart ass and is always devising these intricate schemes to save his own skin. I also like the idea of less known actors playing in television roles. This keeps actors from bringing the movie roles they are known for into the sitcom world. My wife would definitely have to be played by Natalie Portman. Not just because she also is a very attractive woman, but because she is a very smart, classy, true to herself kind of girl. They are also both brunettes. Kayla (my wife) is no Harvard graduate but, she is super intelligent, caring, sweet, deceptively innocent, and has a really positive aura about her. I feel Natalie Portman would be a solid representation.

Well there you have it. If ABC let me have a television show based on my life. It would be an all American tale about two young teenagers falling in love, getting married at a young age, setting off to see the world and ending up in the center of it all… Wichita, Kansas.

____________________

Nick French lives in Wichita, Kansas, where he works for the United States Air Force. On a typical weekend, he enjoys spending his time outdoors where he can be found fishing, hunting or camping. Nick is also an active member of his Air Force Base softball team.

Nick and his high school sweetheart, Kayla, are expecting their first child, a son, on July 15th. He blogs about his experience in becoming a first time dad at She’s Pregnant, I’m Learning.

4 thoughts on “Week One: Nick French

  1. Great post Nick! Sounds like a very interesting life and television show. How exciting that your son is due any day now! Sending positive thoughts, prayers and easy labor vibes your and your wife’s way. I look forward to working with and getting to know you as a fellow author here at The Today Voice.

  2. I can definitely relate to that fish out of water feeling. I moved to Atlanta from Tennessee, and let me tell you, it was a total culture shock. Although I’ve gotten over the initila shock, It’s good to go home and visit once in a while. I hope you and Kayla find the opportunities to do the same. Good luck with the next two weeks, I am sure you guys are anxiously awaiting the arrival of your first child!

  3. Pingback: Thursday’s Voice: Week One

Leave a Reply

