Week One: Peter Combs

If your life were a television show what kind of show would it be? Who are the characters?

If someone had the crazy notion to create a television show based on my life, I suppose it would have to be a weekly drama of some kind. All the right elements are already there. You’ve got your main character, a guy, who grew up in a dysfunctional family in small town Tennessee. He met and married Renee, the only girl he’s ever cared enough to kiss, and together they ran away to “the big city” – Atlanta, Georgia.

There’s plenty of built-in back story, what with all of the family history, it would be enough to give the show plenty of story arcs to explore. Mom and Dad are serving life sentences in prison for various crimes, including abuse and rape, and said guy is dealing with the aftermath of his childhood, which includes having lived in multiple foster homes, memory loss, and one crazy story that ends with him leaping from a  burning building.

Unfortunately, I’m afraid it would be doomed from the start. First of all, I don’t think anyone would buy the plot line, sometimes even I have a hard time believing all of it, and I was there when it happened.  But let’s just say the show gains a small following and gets picked up for a season or two. The real question is where would those handful of episodes air? My family story would never make it as an ABC Family drama. It doesn’t fit in with the classy/dysfunctional genre they have going on. More often than not, my story played out on the other side of town, prompting me to think that maybe our show would do better on the Fox network. The only problem is that their so knee-deep in the drama/comedy hybrid as well as incorporating the music scene into their shows, that I am afraid that “My Life: The Drama” would soon be retooled as “My Life: The Comedy”. Or better yet- “My Life: The Musical” (ala Glee).

Music… That would really light up those prison scenes. Now there’s a show for you.

____________________

Peter Combs is a 28 year old husband, writer and former foster child. He currently lives with his wife, Renee, in Atlanta, Georgia. Peter is the author of the blog Home.

2 thoughts on “Week One: Peter Combs

  1. I really like your writing style Peter and what a compelling story you have. It doesn’t sound like you have led an easy life, but it does seem like you have learned a lot from your expeience. I would watch a TV show about your life based on this description. Thank you for conceiving The Today Voice and inviting me to be a part of it! I continue to be so intrigued with the varying direction each of us authors have gone with this first week’s prompt.

    • Thank you for the compliment! There are many reasons why I could say that my life so far has been terrible, but there are so many more things that I can point to that would indicate otherwise. Life is life, and nobody escapes the hurtful things associated with it. Sometimes the cards stack in an unfavorable way, that is for sure, but in the end, every experience is an opportunity to learn and grow. I’m thankful for what I have learned so far.

      Thank you for taking this journey with me. It’s exciting to see it all coming together!

Leave a Reply

