Week One: Amanda Kasper

If your life were a television show what kind of show would it be? Who are the characters?

You know those times you flip on the TV, scanning the channels or skimming through the TV guide, looking for something mindless to watch? My life as a television show wouldn’t be like that. It wouldn’t be a prime time drama, either. Ellen Pompeo and Patrick Dempsy have a pretty tight lock on that spot. It wouldn’t be like Animal Planet or the Jersey Shore, although it would have a realistic component to it. It wouldn’t be reality TV – it would be scripted – but not by writers, by real people. Probably by me, to tell the truth.

It would be a show that mostly anyone could identify with.

If my life was a television show, I would be behind the scenes ONLY. I would be pouring my funniest, my most heart wrenching, my most ironic moments into dialogue to be read by those without stage fright, those who felt confident in front of the camera and comfortable living out loud moments that I haven’t necessarily comprehended or accepted on my own yet.

If my life was a television show, the characters would be subject to approval. Some constant. Some guest appearances. Some recurring characters, weaving their ways into and out of and through and around the story line. My family would be constant. If you knew me four or eight years ago, you would’ve just laughed at that notion. But the last few years, the last few months in specific, they’ve been an integral part of keeping this fabric together. They’ve been my everything.

My friends would be characters. Some from each part of my life, three from high school, more than a few dozen from college, one or two from each job since then, from each group I’ve joined, each board I’ve sat on, each practice I’ve taken up, each community that has integrated it’s way into my heart and my mind. You know, some friends, you can go six months without talking to, but when you pick up the phone, nothing is different. Those are some of the most powerful friendships. They’d be on the show. Even if they’ve been quiet though the most recent stretches. They’re some of the most important people in my life. The people who have witnessed years, chapters, different pieces of the whole; the people who have been here through trials and tribulations and life lessons – they’re important.

In the last month or two, there would be an addition to the cast. A group of people that I currently only know through the online world – but people who inspire me, who motivate me, who comfort me, who provide such a strong friendship that I feel like I’ve known them my whole life. People who get the challenges of the journey, more so than the outcome or the starting point or anything else trivial.

If my life was a television show, I’d watch it. I think, in the recent months, it would be considered a satire. There would be funny bits, and sad bits, and harmful ones too. But I’d watch it. I hope you would too.

____________________

Amanda Kasper is a writer, reader, quote lover, CASA advocate, and non-profit believer, seeking space as a lifelong learner, passionate lover, and irreplaceable friend. Amanda tweets at @AKasper513 and blogs over at “& this I believe”

3 thoughts on “Week One: Amanda Kasper

  1. I would watch too Amanda! Thank you for sharing what a TV show about your life would look like. I could especially relate to how you described some of your long-time “pick up right where you left off” friendships. Those relationships are so special and important. I look forward to getting to know you better over the next year here at The Today Voice.

Leave a Reply

