Week Two: Nick French

Describe a a typical day in your life. What do you dread the most? What do you look forward to?

For the last nine months, I can’t say there has been a “typical” day in my life. Although my wife has been phenomenal during her pregnancy, every day seems to hold something new. Every day it seems like we are going to buy something new for the baby, going to Lamaze class, or even just taking a walk. Only being 21 years old a lot has changed recently. I went from having no worries, playing baseball 24/7/365, to joining the military and moving 1600 miles from my hometown.

A typical day would consist of waking up at 5:00am and going to work on airplanes while cursing the unfortunate weather in Kansas. After that I usually have a couple hours before playing softball with 1 of the 3 teams that I’m on. Right now I am taking college classes working towards my AA and Air Force Degree. Then I was offered the opportunity to write for this amazing blog, with some great writers. In the first week I could already tell how great this blog is going to be. Five different writers from all around the United States makes for some pretty unique experiences.

What do I look forward to the most? I would have to say, coming home from work. As soon as I open the door my beagle named Cooper comes rushing at me, full of pure excitement. I turn the corner and put down my keys to start my search for my beautiful wife. This is without a doubt the best part of my day.

The thing that I dread the most is leaving my wife and baby boy behind while I deploy this fall. It will take care of us financially; it’s a neat experience, and better serves the country that I love. But our baby will only be about three months old. I will miss his first Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years this year. This is what I dread the most. The nice part is that my deployments are not a full year long. My heart goes out to all our service members who have to pull 365’s regularly. I can’t imagine how hard that must be. Its’ the little things in life that are the most important and I am happy to realize this at the age of 21.

____________________

Nick French lives in Wichita, Kansas, where he works for the United States Air Force. On a typical weekend, he enjoys spending his time outdoors where he can be found fishing, hunting or camping. Nick is also an active member of his Air Force Base softball team.

Nick and his high school sweetheart, Kayla, are expecting their first child, a son, on July 15th. He blogs about his experience in becoming a first time dad at She’s Pregnant, I’m Learning.

3 thoughts on “Week Two: Nick French

  1. Happy Week Two Nick and congrats one being closer to meeting your baby boy! You are such a great voice to start off our discussion each week. I appreciate reading how you interpret the topic and your honest/candid answers. Your life certainly has changed a lot recently and it will change even more with the birth of your son and your upcoming deployment. Both events definitely help to keep things in perspective and remind us what is important in life. Thank you for sharing about a typical day in your life. I am glad to be writing in this space with you this year.

  2. Pingback: Thursday’s Voice: Week Two

Leave a Reply

