Week Two: Brian B. Baker

Describe a a typical day in your life. What do you dread the most? What do you look forward to?

He rolls over, the little band playing its tune, sliding the lock he resets it for another forty-five minutes.

It wasn’t a blissful sleep with kids running up and down the halls, but it was enough for him to get that extra rest after staying up until 1 to finish another chapter on his book

As he climbed in the shower, the water coming down in torrents of hot blistered liquid another idea came and he hurried through the rest of the liquid to type it in Evernote.

Rushing through the morning shave, his face still raw from yesterday’s sun. The goatee and the fading hairline made him think about how it would all end, but that was something else he would deal with when writing that night.

He eats his cereal as fast as he can then kissing his wife and kids goodbye, like Ward Cleaver. He left for another day in the vacuum of smoke.

Upon arrival he grabs his current reading material and starts his ritual of distraction. His eyes occupied by the book, he places the small earphones in his ears and the disconnect begins. Stepping in the building he snags his shirt, apron and tie, carrying them down the white halls adorned with the hotel’s coming attractions and their current shows.

Lifting the pen from the desk, because there’s no way he’s using his own, he signs his name, Brian B Baker in the little book.

His day is thirty minutes away and he heads up the stairs to the dining room, because that’s where he’ll get more time to read.

Reading and passing the time talking to co-workers, he grabs his bag. Today its filled with the usual stuff for bartending, beer openers, corkscrews and his name tag.

Putting his things in an empty locker he heads out to see the damage, there’s always damage, sometimes little, sometimes small.

Getting the bar stocked, cleaned and ready for the day, he looks as his phone, realizing its nearly lunch time; for him it’s reading and writing time.

Lunch passes without much fanfare.

He spends the rest of the day stocking, talking to cocktail waitresses while he waits for the clock.

The day ends, he heads home, Alice in Chains playing through the speakers and arrives home to his little girl’s smile as he walks in the door. His son drops the iPad, tackling his dad with a big hug.

Dinner passes, and another episode of Doctor Who with it. The night is nearly over as he helps his wife with the kid’s baths.

After bath time he gets his desk ready for another night of writing, another night of finding out what happens next. He tells his wife goodnight as she heads to bed. He’s not done for the night, he’s only begun.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

4 thoughts on “Week Two: Brian B. Baker

  1. I like that you did your post this week in the third person Brian. I also appreciate that you just jumped right into the narrative, without any introduction (as I tend to do, as if my readers need things to be spelled out for them, when I know, more often than not, they don’t). Your description of a typical day in your life made me feel like I was right there living it with you. I can also relate to how you describe trying to find/make time throughout the day to read and to write. That is a craving that I share with you and am always trying to steal some time for both when I can. Well done.

  2. Thanks Kathy. It was fun stepping outside, looking at my day and seeing all the things I do. Finding time to read/write is hard to do, but well worth the effort.

    I feel better writing in third person than any other form. It took me a while to realize it. Once I did my writing matured a lot.

  3. I really enjoyed this post. I know what you mean about there not being enough hours in the day – sometimes I feel as if I am in control of my schedule, other times not so much. These days, carving out writing time has been a challenge.

    I just want to say that I am quickly becoming a big fan of your writing. I can’t wait to read more.

  4. Pingback: Thursday’s Voice: Week Two

Leave a Reply

