Week Three: Brian B. Baker

 

 
Describe your best friend. How would your best friend describe you?
 
Our best friends know where we hid the bodies. They understand why we stay up late. They know our darkest fears, and sometimes they help us conquer them.

When I was 23 I met a beautiful girl. She had dark brown hair, eyes unlike anything I’d ever seen and an attitude that honestly scared me.

When I asked her out, she told me she had to study for finals. I should have too. She’s always setting a good example.

It was a month later we actually had our date. A bunch of friends were to come over and watch a movie, everyone else backed out. So, it was her and I.

We fell asleep and I kissed her. She was my friend then and became my best friend and wife later.

I discovered her family wasn’t normal, same as mine. I found out she was on a spiritual journey, like me. I also learned what it takes to make a friendship work.

She’s been by my side for nearly 15 years. We’ve been through a miscarriage, the birth of two children, one of them six weeks premature. Things have not always been what we thought, but they’ve worked out alright.

When the economy took a dive we were worried about my job. We eventually lost our house because bills stacked up and we couldn’t pay them. We found a new house and started a new life.

When we moved I said I wanted to start writing more, she said as long as I worked hard at it and never gave up she was okay with it.

My writing started doing well and I finally talked her into painting again. She’s been doing wonderful with it, and may have her stuff in our local First Friday in a few months.

She’s never given up on me, nor I on her. We’ve been through trying physical things, emotional, and spiritual. In the end I’ve learned she’s the best thing for me.

When it comes to what she’d say about me, I did the only thing I could. I asked.

Her response: How difficult is it to describe your spouse and best friend in words? I see someone who has grown in so many ways during the past 14 years. Someone who would have probably been best described as quiet or shy 15 years ago I now see as a confident father, husband, and friend.

He knows who he is, and is not afraid to share an opinion, or engage in an intellectual debate. He is a caring father who would do anything for his kids, and actively tries to spend the most time possible with them in between the craziness of everyday life.

Dealing with the odd quirks and idiosyncrasies of a writer (admit it, you all have them) can be challenging, but seeing the satisfaction on his face after completing that next chapter, while still supporting my creative dreams, is worth every minute.

She’s helped me find who I am.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

4 thoughts on “Week Three: Brian B. Baker

  1. Another great post Brian! I appreciate how you describe your best friend/wife and love that you asked her to write the second part of your post. It is nice to hear her voice alongside your’s. I am also writing about my spouse as my best friend this week, so we have that in common.

  2. Pingback: Thursday’s Voice: Week Three

Leave a Reply

