Week Three: Peter Combs

Describe your best friend. How would your best friend describe you?

You always think that you would know when you are living out one of the most important moments of your life. It seems ludicrous that one could so nonchalantly experience a life altering moment without a second thought; that such an important piece of ones existence can dangle in the balance between chance and pure luck. Perhaps it’s the movies which fool us into believing that such moments have the power to stop you dead in your tracks with bells, whistles, and flying confetti. However fragile such encounters may be, I consider myself lucky enough to remember such a moment, and I am certain that there weren’t bells, whistles, nor confetti of any kind.

I met my best friend when I was sixteen. I still remember the moment I first saw her. It was only very briefly, but I will never forget it. By that point in time, I’d been out of foster care and on my own for nearly a year, and I was absolutely terrified of everything and everyone. That’s when I met Renee. It really surprises me that Renee paid any attention to me in the first place. But then again, she’s a kind, sincere and compassionate person. It was the first time that I felt as if someone truly saw me. It was the first time that anyone truly understood what I had to say. I think if you were to ask her, she would say the same thing about me. Despite our instant connection, it was not love at first sight. It wasn’t love at second glance either. I think that’s what I love most about our relationship, above all other aspects. We were friends first. Everything else evolved around that.

Through the years, Renee has had to deal with the many (holy cow, there are so many) intricacies of my family history and all which that entails. At times, she has rolled up her sleeves and held onto me when there was nothing left to say. At other moments, she folded her arms and set her foot down when I did not have the discipline or courage to be the man that I needed to be. She has a knack for knowing the right time to do which, and I am a better man for it. Through it all, she never tried to fix me. She only saw me, not for who she wanted me to be, but for who I was. And she loved me anyway. I can’t tell you why, but she is still here, right by my side.

That’s Renee. That’s my best friend… my words could never do her justice. Regardless of what the future holds, I know that she will always be here, no matter the cost, loving me for me. And I will spend the rest of my life loving her right back.

P.S. To answer how my best friend would describe me, I took a quick look through all of the old text messages that I have received from Renee… To sum it up, the word that Renee most frequently used to describe me was “Dork”. So there you have it. The person who knows me best describes me as a dork.

I have to say… I’m inclined to agree.

____________________

Peter Combs is a 28 year old husband, writer and former foster child. He currently lives with his wife, Renee, in Atlanta, Georgia. Peter is the author of the blog Home.

5 thoughts on “Week Three: Peter Combs

    • It definitely is! She’s either completely insane, or completely in love. I’d like to believe it’s the latter.

  1. I can see why Renee, your wife, is your best friend. Thank you for introducing us to her. She sounds like an amazing woman and what a cute picture of you two. I love that Brian, you and I all wrote about our spouses. I think that says a lot about the importance we place on our marriages.

    • I loved having the opportunity to write about her. She’s changed my whole world. I’m a very lucky guy.

  2. Pingback: Thursday’s Voice: Week Three

Leave a Reply

