Week Four: Peter Combs

 

Do you have a vice? Write about it here.

I have two, actually. Food being the most dominate of the two, and a love for technology coming in close second. The only thing that could override either of those two things would be if someone were to come up with an app that could produce Pizza with the swipe of a finger.

I’m not going to lie – I love food. Growing up poor, there wasn’t always a lot of it, and sometimes there were days when there wasn’t any at all. At sixteen, I began working at Dairy Queen. And although I was still very much broke, I discovered that $10 goes a long way when you’re ordering from a value menu. I think this is how I learned to cope with some things, because I was at a point in my life where everything felt very much out of my control, but no matter what, there was always food that I could rely on. It was a bad habit to learn, because not only did I gain one hundred pounds as a result, I still tend to lean on food in a very unhealthy way when times get stressful.

On the other hand, it was technology which finally helped me to break some of those bad habits. With the help of cell phone apps such as Runkeeper, My Fitness Pal, and Fitness Buddy, I was able to begin to truly face my habits by tracking the food I was consuming, and the workouts I was attempting. Because of these tools, I have managed to lose forty pounds this year (so far). I am somewhat proud of this, because for the longest time it seemed like a near impossible feat. Not so much now.

Aside from tracking my health habits (or lack therof), I use my cell phone to communicate with various volunteer organizations, and keep tabs of writing projects. Heck, I even outlined this very post on my notes app. Of course, there are other addictions that come with having such a handy little gadget, such as Angry Birds and Twitter. For this very reason, I am sure that it would provide Renee with an endless amount of satisfaction to crush my iPhone with her car.

I think the integration of technology into our life should, like food, be used in moderation. This is something I am still trying to figure out… and hopefully sooner rather than later or else I am afraid that my phone may have an appointment between the rubber and the road, in which case I’ll have to go back to writing longhand in notebooks, and throwing real birds at real pigs for entertainment.

So that’s my baggage. What’s yours?

____________________

Peter Combs is a 28 year old husband, writer and former foster child. He currently lives with his wife, Renee, in Atlanta, Georgia. Peter is the author of the blog Home.

One thought on “Week Four: Peter Combs

  1. Pingback: Wednesday’s Voice: All About Vices | Home

Leave a Reply

