Week Four: Amanda Kasper

Do you have a vice? Write about it here.

The photo above is one of my favorite Instagram photos, highlighting two of my other addictions: DC cupcakes and Sparkly TOMS shoes (in a hospital waiting room)

Hi, my name is Amanda, and I am an iPhone addict.

No, seriously. I lusted after the iPhone for years. Being a serial Verizon customer, I refused to drop my loyalties, so I waited patiently, year after year, announcement after announcement, until Verizon picked up the beautifully crafted Apple product. As soon as my contract was up for renewal, I marched my behind into my closest Verizon store, and got my brand new black 8GB iPhone.

Now, I’ve always been pretty attached to my cell phones. I learned the hard way years ago that I’m just not comfortable with turning my phone off, especially in the middle of the night. My last phone was a BlackBerry, and although my first foray into smartphones, into instant connection to email and Facebook and Twitter, it used to shut down all the time, on it’s own. Or it wouldn’t sync with my computer. Or the battery life was shot within a few hours. It was a good start, but it wasn’t the master of all disguises.

I’ve been a loyal iPhone user for 15 months now, and I cannot imagine ever owning another cell phone product. I can actually go for days without opening my computer, just by being connected through my iPhone. It’s sort of like the Internet in the palm of your hand. I can write blog posts, I can keep up with my Google Reader, I can update all of my social media forums, I can text, call, Facetime, and most importantly, I can use “Instagram”.

Have I mentioned my love for photography? Instagram actually convinced me to sell my digital camera, for I loved always having my iPhone and it’s camera with me, and being able to digitally master the art of photography by using one simple app. It’s kind of incredible, if you actually think about it. Some of the photos I’ve tailored using Instagram are my favorites of all times.

Additionally, I have found myself perpetually entertained by “Words With Friends”. Although my scrabble skills have increased greatly in the past several months, I still lose the majority of the 20 or so games I am in the middle of at any given time. And “Draw Something”? Talk about some really good laughs. My ability to use just the tip of my finger and some different size ‘ink’ tools on my cell phone screen have no doubt provided amusement to every single one of my opponents in recent months.

When the commercial’s for the iPhone say “there’s an app for that”, they really aren’t kidding. When I wanted to track my GI symptoms, I found an app for that (GI Monitor by Well Apps). When I wanted to be able to text hands free, I downloaded “My Backup Assistant”. And when I needed to find the closest bathroom, I downloaded the “Charmin Sit or Squat” application.

With the iPhone, whatever I need truly is in my back pocket.

____________________

Amanda Kasper is a writer, reader, quote lover, CASA advocate, and non-profit believer, seeking space as a lifelong learner, passionate lover, and irreplaceable friend. Amanda tweets at @AKasper513 and blogs over at “& this I believe”

2 thoughts on “Week Four: Amanda Kasper

  1. I honestly don’t know what I’d do without my iPhone. I feel like it’s an extension of me and every time I think I’ve lost it my mind goes numb and I feel like I’ve lost a part of me.

Leave a Reply

