Week Five: Nick French

    

Write about the five moments that changed your life
 

My life has changed so much in the last couple years that I could probably fill a book. I must say that all of the changes have been for the better; I am so blessed to be where I am today. The road behind me is littered with trial and error, misguided actions, and irresponsibility. Though not all my past was like this. I grew up with the best family and friends anyone could ask for; I just made a few bad choices along the way. When I started dating my wife in high school, we were young and immature and eventually finished growing up together. She helped me change my life more than she understands. She is moment number one that changed my life. Though it didn’t happen overnight, we both have become the one that the other depends on. I went from trying to just better my life to thinking of how can we kick start our lives together? That led me to the Air Force.

The military was never option numero uno in my book. My main plan was to play baseball as long as I could without taking much else into consideration. My girlfriend of two and a half years and I were running out of money for school and tired of following the same path as everyone in our city. I remembered in high school when my dad took me to see the recruiter just to keep my options open. I went back to the recruiter for a visit and left pretty sure that’s the path I wanted to follow. I called Kayla and we decided to do it. This decision eventually led to us getting engaged, and ultimately where we are now

The day that I left for basic military training was definitely a life changer. I felt as prepared as I could have been as I left that day. I flew on a plane from Washington State to Denver to San Antonio. When I arrived in San Antonio it felt like a dream. I had a permanent ringing sound in my head from the MTI’s (military training instructors) screaming at us. I did not expect this at the air port, even though it was more or less in the basement away from public. This day would be one of the longest of my life and changed me completely thereafter.

My wife and I got married in a quick fashion on a break that I had in tech school. I flew home for Christmas and we had a small family only service at our church. This was so she could move with me to my duty location after tech school. We wanted to get married before basic training but fell short on time. We promised ourselves that we would plan to have a wedding the following summer and we stuck to it. In July of 2011, Kayla and I had a formal wedding. It was beautiful. This was a life changer because we proved to one another that we could follow through with plans not just for ourselves but each other. This wedding was a blast and well worth the wait.

Ryker Allen was born on July 15th at 8:09am. This is the largest life changer I can imagine at this point in my life. I will never forget the moment that I saw him and heard his cry. It’s a moment that cannot be explained in words. In the last two weeks of his life he has proven to change my life every day. I know that I have only written about four life changing moments in my life that is because these four are the most prominent. I would rather write about four strong moments than adding a fifth that doesn’t really belong. Our lives change on a regular basis. You can chose to embrace the change or fight it, but either way life is going to change.

____________________

Nick French lives in Wichita, Kansas, where he works for the United States Air Force. On a typical weekend, he enjoys spending his time outdoors where he can be found fishing, hunting or camping. Nick is also an active member of his Air Force Base softball team. Nick blogs about his experience in becoming a first time dad at She’s Pregnant, I’m Learning.

2 thoughts on “Week Five: Nick French

  1. Nick, you seem to be a very disciplined stand-up guy. Thanks for serving our country and for sharing your life here on this website.

  2. Pingback: Thursday’s Voice: Weeks Five & Six

Leave a Reply

