Week Six: Brian B. Baker

    

Write about your most embarrassing moment
 

When I first thought of this post, I couldn’t come up with anything. I was befuddled. So I did what any married guy does, I asked my wife. She wasn’t any help either. It’s not that I don’t have embarrassing moments, they’re just not that important to me.

When we travel along our path through life, we have moments that we call “embarrassing.” These moments can range from small little things to large scale mess ups.

I really don’t have any of those, not because I’m perfect or think myself better. I just feel like we move through our lives every day and there are things that maybe I pay attention to more than my mess ups.

One of these is my writing. In the last couple weeks I’ve finished the first draft of one novel, started a short story, started my new blog and spent some time with my son at our favorite comic book store.

Another is watching my daughter’s mind blossom. For the first two and half years she barely talked. She’s been in daycare for five months and she’s the smartest thing, and goofy, like me. She looks just like my wife, but acts like me. It’s wonderful.

My wife has been painting again and seeing her art take shape has made me so proud of her. She’s trying to get enough work done to show at a gallery in Las Vegas or at First Friday. Her paintings are beautiful and abstract. Here is the one she finished recently.

I find myself disconnecting from these things the further I get into my writing. The more focused I am, the less things bother me. I believe it’s a progression of focus.

When we stop paying attention to our daily ins and outs and start focusing on our life goals then we find out who we are and why we wake up every morning. Finding ourselves every morning and staring at a monitor to write is what writing is about. It takes focus and determination and elimination of the little things and the big mess ups to conquer your life and move on.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

One thought on “Week Six: Brian B. Baker

  1. I think you bring up a great point about determination and focus. It’s so easy to get all wrapped up in the things that we face on a daily basis that we lose sight of what really matters to us. Thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

