Week Seven: Brian B. Baker


How did you choose the career you are currently in?
 

A career is wonderful, but you can’t curl up with it on a cold night. -Marilyn Monroe

When the career that pays the bills landed in my lap, I didn’t plan on doing it for 14 years. I had hoped to do it for a few years, but never 14.

Bartending is something you do in college, or so I thought. Using it to pass the time between study sessions, dating and other things would have been my intention, but life doesn’t like to do things we want to do.

Bartending in Las Vegas is interesting, not nearly as much fun as Tom Cruise made it seem in Cocktail or the way Piper Peribo made it seem in Coyote Ugly.

It’s days spent with tourists who can barely function, heat that would make Lucifer jealous and lifting more weight than should be lifted in an eight hour span.

Writing however, is something that makes my ears perk up, my eyes focus and my brain scream YES!

Writing is my other job, the one I don’t get a paycheck from, at least not monetarily.

I’ve been writing off and on since middle school. The last six years have seen the most growth in my ability and in my patience to let the writing do its thing and not to interrupt.

When I finish a project on The Today Voice, The Bleeding Inkwell, a short story or a novel, I feel like I’ve done something good for the world.

Each type of writing comes from idea or an approach to an idea. The prompts on The Today Voice is the idea, I figure out the approach to each.

With The Bleeding Inkwell, I keep things along one or two lines of thought, writing or philosophy, or both. This helps with good posts.

A short story comes from a dream, idea in the shower or something similar. I usually know if the story is going to be longer than a short story by the third paragraph.

Novels are different, not just in their length but in the time it takes to complete one. I’ve had a good mentor along the way and she’s been wonderful.

When a story idea comes through the tangled web of my mind I don’t plot it or outline it. I’m a discovery writer. That means I write the story as it moves along, no outlines.

Along the way I may take notes to help in re-write, of which there are usually 6-7. My first draft is always finding the story, everything after is the details.

I have two jobs, not counting dad and husband, these two jobs take up a lot of time and I’m often up late writing because of it. I’m lucky to have a wife who is an artist and understands.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

One thought on “Week Seven: Brian B. Baker

  1. Pingback: Thursday’s Voice: Week Seven

Leave a Reply

