Week Nine: Brian B. Baker



What story does your family always tell about you?
 

The story that my mom likes isn’t the same as the one I like. I learned more from mine, and still bear the physical scars from it, as well as emotional. So I’ll tell mine since it’s longer and more action packed.

When I was five we lived in an apartment complex, my parents were still married at the time and I remember this story because of the physical pain.

Like a lot of 80’s kids I had a big wheel. I loved that thing. My cousin and I would race around the apartments playing C.H.I.P.S., it’s dorky, but I had a lot of fun with my cousin and on that big wheel.

We were riding around the apartments when we heard a lot of noise coming from one of the parking lots. Racing over, we found other kids racing their big wheels in the parking lot. My cousin said he didn’t want to race. Me being the daredevil, I said okay.

Just as we were getting ready to race, a big kid comes behind me and starts pushing me. I put my feet down, and they were caught underneath the rears tires.

Hear comes the painful part, I was wearing flip-flops. I barely remember anything other than my cousin going to get my mom and getting to the hospital, where they dug out the gravel from my feet.

The road peeled back a few layers of skin. The placed bandages on my feet afterward. My mom took care of me for the next few days, I think I went to my grandma’s a few days too.

The thing I was most upset about, when we returned from the hospital, my cousin had left and I would have to wait until the next summer before I saw him.

I remember that day every morning when I put my socks on. It’s been 30 years and I still have the scars on my feet.

I still love big wheels and I don’t get to see my cousin as often as I did when we were kids, but those were some of my favorite summers. Big wheels, fireworks, our Aunt Cella’s and playing C.H.I.P.S.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

2 thoughts on “Week Nine: Brian B. Baker

  1. Pingback: Thursday’s Voice: Week Nine

  2. Pingback: Week Twelve: Brian B. Baker « The Today Voice

Leave a Reply

