Week Nine: Peter Combs

What story does your family always tell about you?

This one is short of embarrassing… when I was very young I liked to read the Winnie the Pooh books and watch the Winnie the Pooh movie.  I recall feeling very sorry for Eeyore as it seemed the poor guy could never catch a break. I remember trying to come up with an idea of how to cheer him up (I’m not sure I fully thought this through, as I had never actually met Eeyore, but I digress…) and the only thing that ever seemed to make that poor donkey even remotely happy were thistles. As if that’s not embarrassing enough, I somehow got the crazy idea that I should be the one to collect those thistles in an effort to keep him happy. How was I going to do this, you ask? You know that side of Kale that most restaurants use to garnish their plates? Well, for some reason I was under the impression that Kale was, in fact, a thistle. So each time I saw one I made sure to ask for it and made sure that my mom to put it in her purse for Eeyore.

Not only does my family still tell this story about me, but every so often, whenever we sit down to eat at a restaurant, I end up the recipient of unsolicited kale – to cheer up the cartoon donkey of course.

____________________

Peter Combs is a 28 year old husband, writer and former foster child. He currently lives with his wife, Renee, in Atlanta, Georgia. Peter is the author of the blog Home.

Leave a Reply

