Week Ten: Amanda Kasper

If you were really in trouble, who would you go to for advice?

A baby’s first connection is with their mother. For nine months, they are kept safe, warm, fed, and nurtured to grow as they become little people. Through labor and delivery, a baby’s first images, first voices, first feelings are of and with their mother.

This is where as humans, we diverge. For some of us, those relationships only strengthened and matured each day, each week, each year as we’ve grown up. For others of us, those relationships were tainted – by actions or choices or circumstances, and we were forced to find that bond elsewhere – with a teacher, a coach, a mentor, a friends parents.

The relationship I have with my mother has developed and evolved drastically through the past several years. In light of many circumstances, many people, and many moments, we’ve become significantly close. As in, she’s the person I trust most with my life, my heart, my feelings.

I can tell my mom anything, even when it’s hard. Even when we’re both crying. I can ask her for help in the worst of moments. Sometimes, she’s even pretty good at staying calm (like two years ago when I called panicked and shrilled about the bedbugs that had snacked on my roommate the night before). She’s patient, supportive, and literally always willing to lay down her life for me. This year, there were a couple months that I was sicker than I have been in my entire life. Those experiences required many hospital visits, some lengthy stays, and eventually an impossibly hard/expensive decision to transfer schools and move back home. I was so scared to make the wrong choice, but my mom was there every step of the way to help, to provide guidance, to hold my hand.

If I was really in trouble, if I was really scared, if I was really … well, anything … I would ask my mom for advice. She’s wonderful.

________

Amanda Kasper is a writer, reader, quote lover, CASA advocate, and non-profit believer, seeking space as a lifelong learner, passionate lover, and irreplaceable friend. Amanda tweets at @AKasper513 and blogs over at “& this I believe”

Leave a Reply

