Week Twelve: Brian B. Baker

What is the first memory you have

There are many memories that could be my earliest. From one of the first times I played ice hockey to the big wheel incident, which I talked about in Week Nine.

The one memory that stands out the most is a trip I took to Salt Lake.

My mom and sisters were going to a shower or something and I was with my dad. We walked around the city for a long time.

I remember looking at the sky, it was a brilliant blue. A slight breeze was blowing, which indicated the coming winter. The Wasatch mountains had a light dusting of white powder which meant it was early October, since the mountains would have been covered in whiteness if it was later.

As we walked along the streets, the big buildings, which I’d never seen before, looked like imposing monoliths.

We were walking past the Greyhound station when a homeless person approached us. I had no idea about the homeless, and was a little scared.

The man asked my dad for a few dollars, which he produced from his pocket.

Handing the money over, my dad smiled. I remember the man muttering something about, “five dollars, I can get a lot for five dollars.”

As the man walked away I turned around to see him stumbling on the sidewalk. I thought there was something wrong with his leg, naive as I was maybe four.

I don’t remember much about the day after that, but it replays in my head whenever my dad and I have a falling out.

It reminds me of how different he was when I was little and how innocent the world looks through a four year old’s eyes.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

One thought on “Week Twelve: Brian B. Baker

  1. Pingback: Thursday’s Voice: Week Twelve

Leave a Reply

