Week Thirteen: Brian B. Baker

How old were you when you had your first kiss? 

 A first kiss can be a gauge of where our lives are. As adolescents it can be something that says who we think we are. If we feel that the first kiss is good or bad can determine whether we keep the relationship or not.

It can also help us decide whether we want to continue being who we are.

It also depends on the type of kiss. My first kiss, boring kiss, was when I was nine.

My first real kiss was when I was seventeen. By real kiss I mean open mouth, an odd way to look at it but that’s what it is.

There are many types of kisses. The first time I kissed my wife I felt something I’d never felt with anyone else. It sounds odd, but it felt electric, almost as if an invisible barrier was separating us from the rest of the world.

The world outside that barrier was cold and uninviting, the one inside, that was just the two of us was something else. It was warm, caring and full of life. 

Like the comparison between that first day of spring, you hear the world wake-up from winter and the first snowfall, when it feels insanely cold and you just pray winter goes by fast.

Every kiss has meant something with my wife, from the time we had our miscarriage to the birth of our son, then our daughter and everything that went with that pregnancy.

The first time I saw my son and was able to kiss his squishy face, and the first time I held my daughter and was allowed to give her a kiss, those were special days.

A first kiss can mean different things to different people, but to me a first kiss determines everything that comes afterward.

It can tell me how the person is feeling, if they’re sad, happy or still mad.

Every kiss is meaningful. From the first kiss when you’re married, the birth of a child, the pain of loss as you’re trying to comfort someone or make them feel better when they’re sick.

I remember the last time I kissed my grandmother on the cheek, a few weeks before she passed away. The way her skin smelled, the softness of her skin and the way she looked at me.

It is a powerful thing, just like they say in fairy tales.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

3 thoughts on “Week Thirteen: Brian B. Baker

  1. Whenever something changes in my life, or my writing, I remember that day. It wasn’t sad, because at the time I didn’t know it would be my last time with her, but I’m glad it was.

    I miss her, but I have that day and her trying to talk to me.

    Thank you for your comments April!

  2. Beautiful post Brian. I really like what you did with this prompt. I just realized I didn’t write mine for this week yet. Opps! Gotta pull something together now.

Leave a Reply

