Week Thirteen: Peter Combs

How old were you when you has your first kiss?

I was eighteen – nearly nineteen – when I had my first kiss. This sounds very (very, very) lame written out in black and white, but it was a decision that I made and I am proud that I stuck to it.

A lot of people make similar decisions regarding the physical elements of their romantic relationships for religious reasons, and I must admit, this was where I was originally introduced to the idea. But the moment this went from being an idea to a personal goal was during my stay in foster care and the subsequent years that I spent afterwards trying to piece my life back together. I just remember thinking that I had way too much at stake to mess anything up – and from my vantage point it appeared to me that my peers were making the majority of their mistakes when they surrounded themselves with the wrong people. I just didn’t feel that I was at a point in my life where I needed one more thing to make it difficult – much less get tangled up emotionally with someone who could potentially send my life spiraling in yet another direction.

In a sense, this was both a good and a bad thing. It was bad because it was the beginning of me shutting everyone out, which is something that I took to the extreme. On the other hand, by refraining from engaging in any physical aspect of a relationship (yes, even a kiss) I realized I had something very special that I could potentially share with the one person that I could potentially spend the rest of my life with. Also, I kind of thought it romantic to save my first kiss for the girl that could become my future wife.

I know how different this decision is, but it paid off because in the end Renee has been my one and only in every sense of the word – and she always will be.

____________________

Peter Combs is a 28 year old husband, writer and former foster child. He currently lives with his wife, Renee, in Atlanta, Georgia. Peter is the author of the blog Home.

One thought on “Week Thirteen: Peter Combs

Leave a Reply

