Week Fourteen: Brian B. Baker

 When do you think that it is OK to keep a secret and why? 

We all have secrets we keep, they can be little or huge.

It’s not the type of secret that is important, it’s what happens when we tell it.

I have secrets, but I keep some of them to myself. Some of them come out in my writing, without my noticing.

Every secret we tell is giving away who we are, giving away part of us and letting that person or group of persons into our world.

I used to think secrets were bad, until I started writing to be published. I’ve discovered some secrets are better left in the dark, better left away from prying eyes. Not because they’re bad, but because people wouldn’t understand why we have them.

My secrets aren’t bad, they’re just too personal to divulge to anyone, because of how closely I keep them. My wife knows all my secrets, but she’s the only one.

Just as telling a secret can change your life, so can not telling one. Some secrets are so eye opening to the person you’re telling they can change the dynamics of the the relationship you have with the person you’re telling.

These secrets are better left told to a spouse or someone you trust.

I don’t really have anyone I trust with my secrets the way I trust my wife, I’ve had them thown in my face by people too often to let them out.

Our lives are inevitably run by us, but it is the secrets we keep, and the way we keep them that make us who we are.

The way people look at us changes with each thing we let them know about us.

There are things I will never tell some people because of how I’ve been treated by them before. But there are others who know these things because of the trust we’ve built up between us.

If you trust someone enough the content of a secret shouldn’t matter, the only thing that should matter is the trust.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

3 thoughts on “Week Fourteen: Brian B. Baker

  1. “Just as telling a secret can change your life, so can not telling one. Some secrets are so eye opening to the person you’re telling they can change the dynamics of the the relationship you have with the person you’re telling.”

    This part of your post really resonates with me Brian. I have been on the receiving end of learning such a secret. It didn’t change the dynamics of the relationship with the person who told me the secret, but it definitely changed my perspective about someone who the secret had to do with. I wonder sometimes if I would be better off not knowing what I know, but have done my best to make peace with the information and those invovled.

  2. It’s hard finding something out like that. A secret can change you. If it’s a big secret it can damage you. I’ve found out some secrets that changed the way I look at people and things, but I’ve learned to live with them, now they are a secret I know.

Leave a Reply

