Week Seventeen: Brian B. Baker

 Write about your least favorite childhood memory

I was going to post something about another trip to Yellowstone, a very notorious one, but when it comes to least favorite childhood memories there’s one that stands among all others.

When I was in second grade I remember my mom asking me who I’d like to live with if here and my dad didn’t live together, my older sister was standing there, I looked up at her for guidance since I was only eight, my mom took this as she’d told me something, she didn’t.

Later, during the summer of that year I remember my mom, my little sister and my sister Bean, yes, that’s the name I’ve always called her, and will for this post. Anyway, my mom, little sister and Bean, who was in between my oldest sister and myself, kind of the middle child, she’s not the oldest, youngest or only boy, so she’s in the middle, they grabbed all their stuff and left, no one told me what was going on, at least I don’t remember them telling me.

My parents fought often when I was a kid, so I guess I was glad they weren’t together, at least that’s what I told myself until I was in my early thirties and dealt with it by writing about it.

I’d see my mom every weekend for a while, they both started dating, which to a eight year old who hadn’t been told what was going on looked and felt wrong to see my mom kissing someone other than my dad, and the same for my dad.

That summer was the worst memory I have as a kid. It happened when I was just about to start third grade, and that’s the reason why, when my son started third grade this year it meant so much to me for my wife and I to still be married.

I love both my parents very much, but there was a lot of anger at them for not telling me what was going on. I was eight, but as I know from my own eight year old, they’re smarter than they’re given credit for.

Parents need to trust that telling their kids what is going on is more important than keeping them in the dark. I let everything go from my childhood a few years ago, but I still wish I’d been told what was going on.

It was my lost summer in my view.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

One thought on “Week Seventeen: Brian B. Baker

  1. That summer changed my life. I would never would have been able to get through it with out you. I felt that our relationship became stronger. I love you Bri.

Leave a Reply

