Week Seventeen: Amanda Kasper

Write about your least favorite childhood memory

[In lieu of a photo of the actual Halloween menu, I’m instead providing a rare treasure. It took a lot of digging to find, but here it is, me in the third grade.]

This question isn’t as fun as the last one. Nobody wants to recount the times they didn’t particularly enjoy or appreciate. But, I suppose that writing about them makes us learn some infinite wisdom, like “look how far we’ve come” or “things could always have been worse”.

When I think about the 26.5 years of my life, my most least favorite moments have been within the last two years. And for some, this time during their third decade could be considered their childhood. But I know I must think back farther.

I will write instead about a moment that happened when I was eight, which, based on the timing of this post, seems like the perfect thing to share. In the fall of the third grade, we were assigned to create a “Halloween Menu” – an assignment for English class, asking us to combine the things we had learned and our ‘mastery’ of the language with the upcoming holiday.

In my notebook, during lunch/recess the next few days, I wrote out all of the words. I was super excited! But at that time (and honestly, still to this day), I was nervous about my lack of art skills. I had talked to my mom about some ideas, but when it came down for us to sit together and work on the assignment, I shy’ed away from the creative part.

When it came time to turn in the project and present it to the class, I was confident in my masterpiece.

However, as a third grade teacher, Mrs. Peterson was more in-tune to her students than most professors I’ve had since then. On the back of the menu, when it was handed back to me the following week, it beautiful black penmanship, it stated

“A for Amanda

A for Mom”

I was so embarrassed. To this day, I often reflect upon the fact that I wasn’t confident enough in myself, or carefree enough to turn in a product I had solely created on my own. Looking back, I still grimace.

________

Amanda Kasper is a writer, reader, quote lover, CASA advocate, and non-profit believer, seeking space as a lifelong learner, passionate lover, and irreplaceable friend. Amanda tweets at @AKasper513 and blogs over at “& this I believe”

Leave a Reply

