Week Nineteen: Brian B. Baker

Write about one thing you’d like to do before you die. 

There are so many things I want to do before I die, but the top of my list is going to India.

I’ve been Buddhist for the past ten years and Buddhism was founded in India. There are many places to see and there are many tours which take you to the most sacred of places.

There are the temples, the place where Siddhartha Gautama attained enlightenment and there are the places along the way that are mostly for the pilgrims who are following the path of Buddha.

I don’t talk about my beliefs often, mainly because Buddhism is misunderstood by Western  culture.

India is where my heart is, it’s where I believe my soul belongs and it’s also where I would feel the most comfortable.

As most Buddhists, I wish to be cremated when this body is gone and I move to the next rebirth, I’ve told my wife and others I wish my ashes to be spread in India.

Buddhism is something that fell in my lap when I’d been searching for something, much the way it is for anyone–regardless of belief–whom needs to discover where they belong and who they believe they are.

Buddhism helped me find that. I’m still on my path and when I find myself straying I begin anew and start over.

I’ve had many ups and downs along my path, but with each one I’ve learned more about myself and those around me.

India is my pilgrimage, like Jerusalem to Christians and Mecca to Muslims.

My goal is to be in India for my 50th birthday, it’s years away, but the years pass by quickly.

My one thing is to see India and follow the path of Buddha during his journey to enlightenment.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

Leave a Reply

