Week Nineteen: Amanda Kasper

Write about one thing you’d like to do before you die.

Overly ambitious, hyper-driven people like myself keep bucket lists. Bullet pointed or numbered pages, post its, email files that include everything we want to do, everything we want to become, everything we dream of.

I’ve kept my list as a place to write the really big things. The ones that require reaching, hoping, work, effort, time, love and nurturing.

It currently has 25 items, of which 6 items have been crossed off. Some of them were vague, some very specific.

The number one item, is, has, and will be (at least for a little while) – is to Publish a Book.

It used to be to Write a Book, but I did that this summer. No, seriously. I wrote a memoir, that is now in it’s editing stages. It’s something I would’ve read this year. It’s one that I would’ve combed the pages, highlighting and underlining and dog-earing pages, finding comfort and solace in the fact that I wasn’t alone in my journey. . .

It’s a book written for that exact purpose – for others.

As I embark on the process of writing a proposal, finding an agent, and pedaling it to publishers, I know that keeping my fingers crossed won’t turn my dream into a reality. Rather – it will require perseverance, determination, and most importantly, my belief, and the beliefs of others, that my story is worth telling.

More than anything in the world, I will have done the two most important things to my life when this dream comes true:

I will have allowed my passion for writing to be turned into a gift I willingly shared, and by telling my story, I will have helped somebody; to at least one person, I will have made the world seem less horrible, I will have made them feel less alone. 

________

Amanda Kasper is a writer, reader, quote lover, CASA advocate, and non-profit believer, seeking space as a lifelong learner, passionate lover, and irreplaceable friend. Amanda tweets at @AKasper513 and blogs over at “& this I believe”

Leave a Reply

