Week Twenty: Brian B. Baker

If you were going to write a book, what would it be about?

When it comes to books that I want to publish the list is long, very long. I’ve written two books in the last couple years. The first is sitting because of the market, the other I recently finished and I’m going through editing and all that stuff.

Both books are wonderful in their own ways, but they are ones that I’ve finished in one way or another.

I get story ideas all the time, but the idea I had the other day is one that I want to write, not now, but possibly after I finish the current book.

I’m an American History fanatic and I have an admiration for Thomas Jefferson. I want to do a historical fiction within U.S. history, not necessarily regular fiction, something more science fiction, steampunk or something similar.

I would like to think that former Presidents would think highly of a society in a steampunk world, but finding out whether they would or not, now that would be a fun book to write.

I still have no ideas for characters in this book, it’s just an idea I had after the elections, and wondered what America would be like if steampunk had happened earlier, around the turn of the eighteenth century, rather than Victorian times, and there are other things, like the invention of the steam engine, but I think it would be a lot of fun to write this one.

I would have to take a bit darker than regular steampunk, since what I write is darker. But, the story itself, and the way I think of it in my head would be fun to write.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

2 thoughts on “Week Twenty: Brian B. Baker

  1. Pingback: Week Twenty: Brian B. Baker « The Today Voice | The Bleeding Inkwell

  2. Pingback: The Story That Won’t Go Away. | The Bleeding Inkwell

Leave a Reply

