Week Twenty: Amanda Kasper

If you were going to write a book, what would it be about?

Ironically (or maybe rather, it’s a sign from the universe), this prompt perfectly follows the last one. If you read about the “one thing I want to do before I die”, you’ll know it’s Publish a Book. But it’s not just any book. To start, it’s the memoir I wrote this summer.

If I was going to write a book, if I had written a book, first and foremost, I’d want it to be something I wanted to read. Something I needed to read. Something that spoke to my soul. Something that I recommended to everyone I knew, no matter their stories, their genre or author preferences, their tastes in books.

It wouldn’t be about fictional characters, or made up places, or fantasy’s far away. It wouldn’t be something that people could escape into.

Rather, I’d want it to be something that changed life, even for just one minute, for someone else. Something that made someone else feel less alone, more empowered, more equipped, less overwhelmed. Something that someone else could understand.

I’d write about life as I knew it. Experiences I had, or was having, or wanted to have. I’d write about people I had met, or knew, or loved. People others could understand. People who were real. I’d write about obstacles, about overcoming, about being pushed down. I’d write from my heart, because that’s the only place the words come naturally from.

If I was going to write a book, if I had written a book, I hope you would read it.

________

Amanda Kasper is a writer, reader, quote lover, CASA advocate, and non-profit believer, seeking space as a lifelong learner, passionate lover, and irreplaceable friend. Amanda tweets at @AKasper513 and blogs over at “& this I believe”

2 thoughts on “Week Twenty: Amanda Kasper

Leave a Reply

