Week Twenty-one: Peter Combs

What are you most thankful for?

Besides for the obvious reasons, this prompt is very timely in my personal life as over the last couple of days I’ve begun to see just how much I have to be thankful for. Such reflection feels like a luxury, as I’ve not had the time to think about much – a symptom of of the busy season at my place of employment.

Since the month of September, and throughout October, I worked an average of fifteen hours each day. The overtime was a welcome opportunity and looked very good for my budget, but eventually the long hours I was putting in began to take it’s toll. Luckily, the busy season ended and my schedule began to resemble something a bit more normal, just in time to enjoy the holidays with my family – but none too soon just the same.

The beautiful thing about working such a hectic schedule is that it forces you to purge all of the unnecessary thoughts from your mind to make room for everything that’s happening in the moment. Normally I am very good at juggling several projects at one time, but when the tasks greatly outweigh the hours in the day, even the best juggler is going to drop a ball or two.

This is what happened to me last month. As the work intensified, I began to lose grip on the most basic of things. I couldn’t even maintain this blog very well, much less keep up with my own weekly posts. But as ugly as it feels to admit defeat, there is value to be found in pushing yourself to the point of exhaustion, if not only for the reminder that life finds a way to move on without imploding on itself when you inevitably find that you have not met all of your obligations.

Now that I’ve had a week to return back to my life (and to my wife who thinks I’m a stranger), it’s easy to see so many things for which I have to be thankful. Here are just a few of those things:

I am thankful for my wife who continues to push me to do the things that are good for me, but also allows me to grow at my own pace. I am thankful that she continues to choose us.

I am thankful for the small improvements that I see as a result of a continued effort to move on from my past.

I am thankful for my past because it taught me that life is hard and in order to achieve your dreams you have to work harder than anyone else you know.

I am thankful to have had the opportunity to work hard and earn extra income. I am thankful that because of this opportunity my bank account is on the plus side and I will be nearly debt free by the end of the year – a first for me and a goal that I’ve worked toward for a long time.

I am thankful for sore muscles because it means that I have begun running again -albeit very (very, very) slow.

Lastly I am thankful for this outlet, which lends me the opportunity to write in such good company.

Happy Thanksgiving!

____________________

Peter Combs is a 28 year old husband, writer and former foster child. He currently lives with his wife, Renee, in Atlanta, Georgia. Peter is the author of the blog Home.

2 thoughts on “Week Twenty-one: Peter Combs

  1. Welcome back Peter! We missed you. I love your honesty in this post and everything that you have learned/are thankful for. Congrats on being so close to being debt free! That is huge! I am glad your work is slowing down so you can enjoy time with your loved ones during the holiday season and we can see more of you here. I too have felt overwhelmed in recent months and am finally pulling myself out of that cycle. It feels so good to feel like I have more balance in and control over my life.

Leave a Reply

