Week Twenty-four: Kathy Benson

Kathy Benson - Week 24 - Photo 

If you could witness any event, past, present or future, what would it be?

This is such an awesome and overwhelming question. I could easily come up with a different answer each week and explore that every Thursday for a year or more. I considered so many possibilities and in the end came up with two events, one past and one future that I would most like to witness, though it was so hard to narrow it down.

PAST – The Last Supper

I would like to witness the Last Supper with Jesus Christ. I think it would be incredible to be there with Jesus and his disciples on the night before he died. I would love to witness how that meal and evening played out in person and to see what Jesus was really like to be around.

As a life-long questioning, progressive Catholic, with a strong faith, I have always been fascinated as to what it would be like to interact with Jesus in the flesh, to hear him speak and to see him in action. I have read the Bible and heard so many interpretations of his life and legacy. So to get to see for myself how accurate what I have learned about Jesus is would be truly awesome.

Awhile back I got into reading the Joshua books, which imagines what it would be like if Jesus, or someone like him, were to be alive and interacting with everyday people in our present world. They got me thinking how I might react to meeting Jesus as the disciples and others did in his lifetime. Would I be kind to him? Would we be friends? Would I believe what he preached? Would I choose to follow him?

The Last Supper is one of my favorite stories in the Bible, about how Jesus asks his loved ones to remember him after his death and to carry on his teachings. I have met some very faith-filled and holy people in my life who have helped me to understand what it might have been like for those early Christians. There was a priest who I got to know in college, who has a way of moving and inspiring young people with his ministry. His religious order transferred him to Italy mid-way through my college years. So many of my Catholic friends from college and I were so sad to see him go. I recall attending the last mass that he said for the Catholic students on campus. When it was time for the consecration, he invited all of us up to the alter with him and it was the most powerful communion experience I have ever had.

After the mass was over and we said goodbye to our friend and such an amazing priest/campus minister, one of my close friends and I went for a walk. I remember us wondering and talking about if what we had just experienced was anything like what the Last Supper had been for Jesus and his disciples. We understood that the circumstances were very different and that our priest friend was not being persecuted or executed, rather just transferred to another place to practice his ministry. However, we felt as if in some small way we got what it meant to have been so moved and inspired by another human being and their ministry that we would want to do anything they asked us to in their honor and to keep their ministry alive in our community. We joked if our priest friend has asked us to eat a lollypop every day for the rest of our lives that we would do it in a heartbeat. That realization helped to make the experience of going to mass and participating in Holy Communion from that point on more real and tangible for us.

FUTURE – My 50th Wedding Anniversary

I would like to witness my husband Bob and my 50th Wedding Anniversary. Of course I hope to actually be there with Bob on September 23, 2050. However, even if I don’t live to see that milestone in our marriage, I love the idea of imagining what our life and family would be like then.

In September 2050, I would be 75 years old and Bob would be turning the same age one month later. Our son Sean would be almost 47, our daughter Abby would be 41 and our baby girl Molly would have been gone 42 years. I hope and pray that Bob and I would be healthy and enjoying our retirement traveling, golfing and most importantly spending time with our children, maybe even grandchildren and other loved ones.

I had the honor and privilege of celebrating my maternal grandparents’ 50th Wedding Anniversary with them in the early 1990’s and it was so much fun to gather with my parents, sister and other extended family members and dear friends for that occasion. I could tell that day how happy and proud they both seemed of the life they had built together and the legacy that had grown through their love and commitment to each other all those years.

I realize that married life is not always easy, but do believe it is worth it to be able to share your life with someone that you love and care about so much. I don’t want to rush my life, but do look forward to possibly getting to witness Bob and my 50th Wedding Anniversary in 38 years and what that event would represent about our life, love and legacy together.

If you could witness any event, past, present or future, what would it be?

________________________________

Kathy Benson is a bereaved and blessed mom, writer and group fitness instructor trying to live mindfully and find joy in the journey after dealing with secondary infertility and loss for five years. She lives in Chicago, Illinois with her husband and two living children.

Kathy blogs at Bereaved and Blessed. You can also follow Kathy on Twitter @BereavedBlessed and her Facebook page.

5 thoughts on “Week Twenty-four: Kathy Benson

  1. Pingback: Thursday’s Voice: Weeks Twenty-Three & Twenty Four

  2. Wow. Tough one. (Loved the Joshua books, by the way.)

    I don’t know if there’s any moment in history that I feel so drawn to … though I guess there are people I would have liked to have met, prophets of all sorts included. At one point, I would have liked to have sat in a salon with the writers of the Harlem Renaissance. Now, I think maybe I would have liked to be at a salon with Ralph Waldo Emerson and Henry David Thoreau and John Dewey and Walt Whitman.

    Present: I want to be in India to hear the monks chanting the eternal Om. It’s not an event, per se, but it would be soul-filling, I suspect. 🙂

    • (hit “reply” too soon)

      I bet the Last Supper was amazing. What a gift, to be with your loved ones in that way, to pass on your ministry and your legacy before you move on.

      I love the idea of seeing your 50th wedding anniversary. I hope we make it that long, too!

  3. Pingback: Week Fifty: Kathy Benson | The Today Voice

Leave a Reply

