Week Twenty-four: Amanda Kasper

photo

If you could witness any event past, present or future, what would it be?

Two lives that shine as one

Morning glory and midnight sun

Time we’ve learned to sail above

Time won’t change the meaning of one love

Ageless and evergreen

July 11th, 1982, my mother married my father in a timeless and eloquent ceremony. Friends and family gathered from near and far to witness the budding love between them. The pictures have captured my heart in a graceful manner – the yellowing of the pages coupled with the twinkling of their eyes and the smiles across their faces – it has always felt magical.

My parents relationship, their wedding, their marriage, it was not lust, it was love, deeper and truer than anyone could ever imagine. My brother and I were conceived out of love, of plans and wishes and goals for the future, for our family, for our life.

More than a decade ago, that life, those plans, this family changed. In the matter of months, or days (we may never really know), everything was different than it ever had been. Everything was different than it would ever be again. And for ten years now, I have witnessed interactions between my mother and my father that I wish I hadn’t. Changes in the ways they’ve treated each other, they’ve treated us, they’ve acted in life.

But thirty years ago, the wedding of two very much in love, just out of college, young and beautiful and naïve individuals – it’s one I so much would have loved to witness. To stand up in. I could only imagine the opportunity to be my mothers maid of honor, to fix her train as she stood at the alter and hold her bouquet as she said her vows.

If I could witness one event in time, it would’ve been the marriage of my parents.

What would you choose? 

________

Amanda Kasper is a writer, reader, quote lover, CASA advocate, and non-profit believer, seeking space as a lifelong learner, passionate lover, and irreplaceable friend. Amanda tweets at @AKasper513 and blogs over at “& this I believe”

2 thoughts on “Week Twenty-four: Amanda Kasper

  1. This really is such a nice post. My parents divorced when I was in third grade and I’ve seen the pictures from my parents wedding, but to see them as young kids exchanging their vows would have been interesting.

    Great post Amanda.

Leave a Reply

