Week Twenty-five: Brian B. Baker

800px-Cartridge_macro_shot

What’s the best/worst gift you’ve ever given/received?

I can name a bunch of worst gifts I received over the years, but it was the best gift, which was only last year that is my favorite.

I’d been wanting to get into vinyl records for a long time. I love blues, jazz, classic rock and I also love the crackle of vinyl. For a long time I’ve been telling my wife that I wanted a record player. She thought I wanted one with all the bells and whistles. The one with the CD player, the mp3 port and radio stations.

I told her that I honestly only wanted one that would play records and if it had an AM/FM dial that would be cool, but not a necessity.

Last year for Christmas I finally got what I’d been wanting, plus I got one of my favorite albums on vinyl.

It was a single record player that could play 45’s, and it had a radio with an AM/FM dial. But the record was L.A. Woman by the Doors.

After we’d got everything cleaned up and the kids had started playing with their toys, I went upstairs to my writing desk, plugged in the player, put The Doors on the turntable and listened to the entire record, flipping it once. For the past year I’ve bought numerous records, Classics by bands I grew up with like Nirvana, Violent Femmes and Pearl Jam. Classic blues like John Lee Hooker and Robert Johnson along with Jazz, Miles Davis, newer bands like Mumford and sons and Florence + the machine.

The sound of the music reminds me of growing up, my dad playing records, my sisters too and when things were better between my dad and I.

Music has always been my favorite place to hide, along with writing, and I can loose myself in an album I love quickly, but if it isn’t the sound of vinyl with its scratchy sound it doesn’t sound as good.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

Leave a Reply

