Week Twenty-five: Amanda Kasper

IMG_5664

What’s the best/worst gift you’ve ever given/received?

The best gift I’ve ever given isn’t a story that’s mine to tell. It was a beautiful piece of jewelry, etched with initials and a date. A date that holds forever meaning in the heart of a friend. When the gift was given, her heart melted in the way that knew mine understood, and that event, those initials, that date, its one that changed everything – including the nature of our friendship, for the rest of time.

This week, I was lucky enough to fly to the east coast and visit her, after 29 months of Skype and phone and text only, and it was wonderful. Although the plane tickets were not a gift, every moment after them was. After being sick for so long, having the opportunity to enjoy a vacation, some wonderful time with my friend and her husband and some others I’ve recently met, I felt blessed in every single way possible.

I guess what they say is true – when you spend so much time in the dark, the smallest amounts of light brighten up your entire world.

This week my heart was overfilled with love and gratitude and blessings, and one of my favorite moments was one entirely unplanned, a gift we were able to give to a complete stranger.

On Saturday, December 8th, we did some sightseeing in New York City (including a photo-shoot on the steps of the Met) and ended our night at the ice rink and beautiful Christmas Tree at Rockefeller Plaza. A lot of individuals were taking pictures, swapping cameras and phones with strangers looking to capture their whole family in on that one special moment. As we were walking along in the crowd, a gentleman handed me his camera, and asked if I would take a picture of him and his girlfriend. Then he said quickly, “I’m proposing”. While the best photos are on his camera tucked away for safe keeping, my best friend took this picture from mine. After we walked away, we were both crying tears of happiness. To be a part of that moment, to witness love like that – we felt like it was such a gift.

This holiday season, I hope you take in all of the little things – for we are beyond lucky to live in a world where even for just one second at a time, our lives intertwine with countless others.

________

Amanda Kasper is a writer, reader, quote lover, CASA advocate, and non-profit believer, seeking space as a lifelong learner, passionate lover, and irreplaceable friend. Amanda tweets at @AKasper513 and blogs over at “& this I believe”

3 thoughts on “Week Twenty-five: Amanda Kasper

  1. That’s awesome. When my son and I went to Chicago in June for the Cubs and Red Sox, a guy asked me to take a picture of him as he proposed. My son thought it was really cool.

    Such a wonderful story. Great post Amanda!

  2. Pingback: Week Fifty-two: Peter Combs | The Today Voice

Leave a Reply

