Week Twenty-six: Brian B. Baker

2133772938_fd62cf0e23_m

What does the holiday season look like for you and your family?

When my wife and I got married we swore, regardless of our beliefs, we would still celebrate Christmas and Easter. The reason for this is two fold. We both had friends who didn’t participate in Christmas when we were kids, and knew how much they wanted to and we didn’t want our kids to feel left out of things we enjoyed as kids.

We usually finish our holiday shopping early, but this year hasn’t followed that trend. It’s nearly Christmas when I’m writing this, and I still have a few things to purchase.

Our Christmas season begins just after Thanksgiving when my wife gets the tree out of storage or we buy a real one, I like the real ones better. I’m at work during the day and she sets the tree up and we decorate it that night.

Christmas Eve we usually watch Scrooge with Albert Finney and the A Christmas Carol with Reginald Owen. I grew up with Albert Finney’s version, my wife with the Reginald Owen version.

We eat a small meal, since we eat Christmas dinner on Christmas night. We allow our kids to open one present, which is always pajamas. We open a present as well, which are pajamas as well. While my wife and kids are making cookies for Santa, I’m usually getting the last minute things done for the big guy’s visit, making sure there’s no ice, this is Las Vegas, there isn’t ice, and making sure there is no clutter in the house for him to trip over.

Before the kids go to bed, we all sit on the couch and I read The night before Christmas. The kids laugh as I read and once I’m through they scramble upstairs so they can be asleep by the time Santa comes.

Christmas day the kids get up at 6, though I think this year my son may try for earlier. As they’re unwrapping presents from the big guy, I drinking my tea, my wife is snapping pictures and our dog is wondering what the heck is going on.

After we clean everything up, and the kids are playing with their new toys. My mom and dad come over and we exchange gifts, usually some talk about what we have planned for the day.

Christmas night a ham is prepared along with Funeral Potatoes or mashed potatoes. Funeral potatoes are a Utah thing. This year my wife is making her Macaroni and Cheese instead.

As we eat we talk to the kids about what they got and if they got everything they asked for. I help my wife clear the table, my son helps sometimes too, and we plan for our next big event while the kids are in bed.

We celebrate the holiday season for the spirit of the holidays and so our kids aren’t left out like our friends when we were kids.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

Leave a Reply

