Week Twenty-seven: Brian B. Baker

Trust
Trust (Photo credit: vagawi )

What is one thing you’ve learned this year?

This week’s topic is difficult because I’ve learned so much this year. I believe the one thing that has been recurring is trust. There are many ways this year could have gone if I hadn’t trusted people. I’ve allowed myself to be more open about what I believe, what I write and what life really means to me.

My wife and I took the kids to Disneyland, which entails a matter of trust in that I did all the planning and made sure we had the funds to do it, something I wasn’t very good at for a while. The kids had a lot of fun, so did my wife and I, but it was more watching our kids experience Disneyland and seeing everything and my daughter meeting most of the princesses.

In June my son and I went to Chicago so we could see the Cubs vs. Red Sox at Wrigley, an experience that I know both of us will never forget. We spent time at the planetarium, eating good food and I got to spend time with my son that I’d been wanting for over a year. Our Chicago trip took a lot of trust from my wife in that I was going to make sure he was safe in big city like Chicago. We had more fun than I thought we would, and I thought we’d have a lot of fun.

In August my wife and I spent a night away from the kids, something we hadn’t done in a very long time. We went to dinner and talked like we’d just started dating again. We did this again this past weekend.

In September my wife and I celebrated our thirteenth wedding anniversary. Our anniversary wasn’t a big affair, dinner at our favorite restaurant with our two kids.

For the last year all these moments were touched by the trust I have in my wife, she has in me and that I’ll do my best to make sure we can do the things we’d always wanted to do with our kids, if we were to have them.

My wife has trusted me to do what we needed to survive, plan vacations and surprise her with nights out. I know she’s going to trust me to get my writing done this next year and send it off to an agent who’s interested.

2012 was about trust. 2013 is going to be about finishing what I’ve started.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

2 thoughts on “Week Twenty-seven: Brian B. Baker

  1. Pingback: Week Thirty-two: Brian B. Baker « The Today Voice

Leave a Reply

