Week Twenty-eight: Brian B. Baker

New-Years-Resolution-629x395
Image credit
Write about your new year’s resolutions.

I stopped doing New Year’s Resolutions a few years ago, instead I set a plan for what I want to have done by the end of the year. I completed all but one of things I wanted to have done for 2012. I had wanted to get an agent, but I haven’t finished the revisions/rewrites on the draft, so I’ll finish them this year, then I’ll send them to an agent. I did find one who was interested in it though, so there’s that.

The list of things I want to have done by 2014.

  1. Get a publisher, or self-publish if I can’t find a publisher that’s interested.
  2. Spend more time with my wife. We’ve been married 13 years, and together almost 15 and I want to keep going.
  3. I want my wife to spend more time with our son, they both need alone time, just them, and I want to try and do that.
  4. Make time for more meditation and spirituality for myself, my wife and our kids. This is something I’ve wanted to do for a while, but it’s now part of my plan for 2013.
  5. I’d like to spend some time with my siblings this year, whether it’s at dinner somewhere or whatever. My sisters and I are passed things from a few years ago and I enjoy talking to them.
  6. I’d like to do something different at a point in the year. Something I’ve never done, like parachuting (tandem) or bungie  jumping.
  7. Find alone time so I get some work done, and spend some time thinking. I did this for a weekend in 2011 and it was awesome.
  8. There’s this book I’ve had trouble writing. I want to finish it by the end of the year.
  9. I’d like to meet Neil Gaiman, either at a book signing or Comic festival. ( This is reaching, since I’m not sure his book tour will be coming to Vegas.)
  10. A few years ago my wife bought me an electric guitar. I want to pick it up again and start playing.

These are 10 things I have on my list of things to do this year. Each one has a purpose, some have two. But, I want to accomplish as many as possible.

What is your list of things you want to have done by 2014? Answer in the comments.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

Leave a Reply

