Week Twenty-eight: Kathy Benson

Kathy Benson - Week 28 - Photo

Write about your new year’s resolutions.

I shared about my resolutions for 2012 in this post on my blog last January. These were my goals for the New Year:

• My general theme for 2012 is BALANCE!

 • I want work towards achieving more balance in my life. This includes past resolutions that I have made of trying not to over program my family and my life with activities and commitments.

• In the past year I really got into writing more often, especially on my blog, as well as beyond. Writing has become one of my passions – it is therapeutic and brings me a lot of peace and joy. However, I admit that many times I have allowed it to take precedence over other priorities, including people, in my life. This needs to change and I intend for that to happen, to balance the time I spend writing with the responsibilities I have in my life with my family and other commitments.

 • Get back to the basics… Make housekeeping a priority in my life and “just do it!” One of my resolutions for 2011 was to do better in this arena and I actually did worse than in 2010. In the past I had a daily/weekly schedule for cleaning and would check tasks off my list. I will return to this approach in the New Year.

 • Lose 5 – 10 lbs. and keep it off. Aim for formal exercise (a mix of group fitness, yoga, running, walking and doing DVDs at home) at least 3 – 5 time per week and when possible exercise 6 – 7 times.

So, how did I do? Not very well…

Take a look at this clip from an annual Christmas party with family friends during which we video tape our New Year’s Resolutions every year and then report back on our progress or lack there of the following year:

I could easily use all of my resolutions intended for 2012, again in 2013.

That is frustrating and embarrassing to admit.

As I have shared in the past on my blog, one of the reasons that I think I have struggled to maintain balance in my life is that I have a tendency to get easily distracted, allow myself to lose focus and follow my whims. In the New Year I want to challenge myself to set daily and weekly task oriented goals and hold myself to accomplishing them. I will work to complete those tasks on a given day or week and then reward myself with time to write, read or something else that I want (but don’t necessarily need) to do.

I have been successful in the past using self-discipline to shed weight and get/stay in shape by watching what I eat and exercising consistently. If I transfer that self-discipline to other areas and responsibilities in my life, I know that can keep my priorities in check and accomplish much of what I intend to in 2013.

The question lies in whether I will actually do it, as I felt the same way going into 2012 as I do now and did not make as much progress as I would have liked to. I appreciate that there are many lessons in life we find ourselves having to learn over and over again. Sometimes these life lessons stick and other times we need to be reminded.

I consider myself a work in progress. Seeing myself this way doesn’t get me off the hook from trying to be a better person, parent, spouse, child sibling, friend and neighbor, but it does help me to realize that I am not and never will be perfect and that’s okay.

If you would like to follow my progress this winter towards my resolutions for 2013, check out a new weekly series (on Fridays) that I am hosting on my blog called the Winter Shed and I would love for you to join in. It will serve as a weekly check in and support group for those trying to be accountable for the positive changes we intend to make in our lives in 2013. Whether you are trying to shed weight, find more balance or letting go of something else that is dragging you down in the New Year. We can do this – together!

I wish you and your loved ones much peace, love and joy in 2013 and hope that if you have made any resolutions for this new year that you are able to work towards achieving them. Happy New Year!

Do you make New Year’s resolutions?

If so, what are they?

If not, why?

________________________________

Kathy Benson is a bereaved and blessed mom, writer and group fitness instructor trying to live mindfully and find joy in the journey after dealing with secondary infertility and loss for five years. She lives in Chicago, Illinois with her husband and two living children.

Kathy blogs at Bereaved and Blessed. You can also follow Kathy on Twitter @BereavedBlessed and her Facebook page.

 

One thought on “Week Twenty-eight: Kathy Benson

  1. Pingback: Thursday’s Voice: December & January

Leave a Reply

