Week Twenty-nine: Brian B. Baker

BBaker
Write about five people that have most affected your life.

As paths in life go mine has felt like car navigation system. “Take a right turn, take another right turn. Your exit is coming up, you missed your exit. Make a U-Turn.” Other times its felt like those who were in my life were guiding me in the right direction. Each of them helped me and have told me I could be anyone I wanted to be at the right time.

Cella

When I first picked up a pen Cella told me to write her something. She passed away just before my sixteenth birthday. I have no idea what happened to the story, but it was her idea that I write it and she was the first person to tell me I could be anything I wanted.

Grandma Jaramillo

Grandma was the heart of our family and when she passed in 1994, a few months after I graduated high school, it devastated our family. She was the one we all turned to for advice, I was no different. We lived with her while I was in high school for a little while and one night I sat at the dinner table finishing a story I had to write for an English class. She asked to see it, so her being Grandma I couldn’t refuse.

She sat down next to me, read the story and when she finished she looked at me, grabbed my right hand and put my pen in it. I can still feel the wrinkles on the top of her hand and smell the lotion she would always use. She told me, “My Mr. Charisma,” and walked away with a smile on her face. Mr. Charisma was the name she gave me and that night I wanted to be a writer, her simply placing the pen in my hand meant more to me than anything. I miss her everyday.

My Mom

She’s stood by me with every mistake I’ve done, and didn’t comment only listened when I told her what happened. She’s never judged me only stood by and watched me pick myself up and try again.

My Wife

I’m not sure where I’d be in life if I hadn’t walked into that Blockbuster and applied for a job, the job where I met my wife. She’s been the biggest supporter of any endeavor and has never said, “I told you so.” She’s been there for me when two of my grandfather’s passed away, when my grandma passed away last year and she’s the best mother I could’ve asked for. My wife has always told me she’d never be disappointed in my writing unless I gave up. I refuse to give up on my writing.

My Kids

They’ve only been here for a while, but my son has told his teacher and numerous classmates his dad is a writer and that’s good enough for me.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

One thought on “Week Twenty-nine: Brian B. Baker

  1. Don’t ever give up Brian,,So proud of you.. Don’t ever listen to anyone that tells you that you can’t do something, they don’t know you very well..

Leave a Reply

