Week Thirty: Brian B. Baker

“Feature image courtesy of Eifion via Creative Commons”
What’s your favorite book and why?

When I was younger I often thought about what it would be like to write an amazing book that people would talk about for years afterward.

I came to A Farewell to Arms with some reluctance, it’s Hemingway, and with a bit of swagger, a word I never use, but I couldn’t think of any word that really fit.

A Farewell to Arms, and Hemingway, made me think about what kind of writer I’d want to be.

I only read it five years ago, and I was really early in my novel writing. I have favorite writers, Anne Rice, Poe, Tolkien, but I’d never read a book, up to then, that moved me and made me want to try harder with my writing.

Every writer has that book that makes them want to write, mine was The Vampire Lestat by Anne Rice, but I don’t think every writer reads a book that truly changes their writing style, the way they view their writing and whether they are worthy of writing anything that could compare to the content in that book.

A Farewell to Arms made me realize a few things about my writing.

  1. I’m a lot better than I believed.
  2. I need to write what I’m familiar with. The old, “write what you know” thing.
  3. Writing can be a symphony, each word can be a sonnet and a book can be a masterpiece.

I believe books fall in our hands at the right time, place and we end up exactly where we’re supposed to be.

A Farewell to Arms changed who I am as a writer, what I choose to write about and how involved the story is with my own life.

Each writer finds who we are in moments, glimpses of what great writing is. After reading this book I understand why we’re supposed to read great writers. Not so much because they’re great, but to see what made them great.

What books made you a better writer? Answer in the comments.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

3 thoughts on “Week Thirty: Brian B. Baker

  1. Usually when I write my Today Voice posts I make a point not to read my fellow writers’ answers to the writing prompts until after I finish mine. However, one other time in the past year reading your voice first helped me to find my voice that week. Once again I happened to read your words/this post earlier today and it changed the way I viewed this prompt about our favorite books.

    I don’t really have a favorite book and wasn’t sure which of my favorites to share about here. M. Scott Peck’s The Road Less Traveled and Shel Silverstein’s The Giving Tree were among those I considered. But I really like how you shared the way one of your favorite books changed the way you think about writing, especially your own work. So thank you again for the inspiration! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Week Thirty: Kathy Benson « The Today Voice

Leave a Reply

