Week Thirty-one: Brian B. Baker

234084520_2f15fffd27_b
Write about anything

The Stream

There’s a stream in the woods where I grew up. On one side of the stream, where I always was, stood the road and the rest of civilization. On the other side stood the wilderness and a lot of things that scared me. Being away from my family, doing something I would be disciplined for and wanting to do something that scared me. I always wanted to go to the other side, just to see what was there, but my fear stopped me.

A Different Way to the Other Side

When I was older I found my way to the other side of that stream, I found a path that led there and since I was in my late teens I was no longer worried about what kind of discipline my dad would give me, I no longer worried about being away from my family, but I was still scared.

It was something new to be on that side of the stream and I felt different. That little boy who was afraid was still there, even though I was about eighteen, he didn’t know what to do, so I stood there, watching the traffic pass me by, wondering where they were going.

Ignoring the Fear and Crossing Through the Middle

Now that I’m in my late thirties I’ve been thinking about that little boy a lot lately and how he’d stand on the banks watching the fish swim fast, never thinking to just cross in the middle of the stream, making his own way through. But I waited until I was older, and found a safe path to the other side, never thinking until the last few months that I should have just crossed through the middle, ignoring the punishment I would have gone through and missing my family.

Sometimes we need to cross through the middle and make our own way to the other side, this is true in life as it is in writing. Cutting through the path in the middle, even though we may not see it could be the shortest way, and we may learn more from it than waiting years to find the safest way through.

The safest way may be the easiest, but we don’t always learn from the safest way, we learn from the hardest and trudging through the stream would have been the hardest.

When have you ignored the fear and found your way through?

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

Leave a Reply

