Week Thirty-two: Brian B. Baker

BBaker
If you could know the answer to any question, besides “What is the meaning of life?”, what would it be?

I’ve had many questions in the last year and a half answered that I can’t think of a question. It may feel like a cop-out, but here’s what I’ve had answered, this may help.

 Trust:

In the last year I’ve had the question of who I can trust with who I am, and whether they’ll still be there when they find out. This was something I answered on The Today Voice here.

Friends:

I’ve learned who my true friends are, why they’re my friends and why I would honestly do anything for them. These are the people who know me best, like my wife, and don’t care about who I am and they support whatever I do.

Who I am:

This relates to another on this list. For the last three months I’ve discovered myself. I’ve read books that have helped me in this discovery process, I reviewed one of them here. I learned what I want out of life and what I truly want to do with my life.

What I should write:

My post on my blog Friday got a few people talking about life, love and who we see ourselves as. When I wrote the short story on the post I didn’t care about the reaction I’d get, I only cared that the story made me happy and that I needed to write it.

It’s stories like The Old Man which teach me the most about what type of writer I am and what I should write. I love getting lost in stories about people, we may not know them, but we know someone like them or we’ve seen someone like them, these are the stories I need to be writing.

Who my family is:

My family is a close knit group that has always stood by me and never judged me, these are a lot of the same people I trust and are my friends. Family doesn’t have to be bloodlines, it’s who is always there for you or your family, doesn’t ask questions about your life and never judges you.

What I believe:

This is a big one over the last month. This is interwoven with “who I am” and has been one of the most satisfying of all of the questions I’ve had answered. Everyone’s beliefs make up who they are, they are the fabric that creates us, the loom that spins us and the plants which create the fabric. We’re each a part of the same whole and I’ve learned that is what makes me who I am.

Whether we like it or not, we’re all connected, and it is unthinkable to be happy all by oneself.
— His Holiness The Dalai Lama

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

One thought on “Week Thirty-two: Brian B. Baker

  1. Pingback: Week Fifty: Brian B. Baker | The Today Voice

Leave a Reply

