Week Thirty-two: Kathy Benson

KB32

If you could know the answer to any question, besides “What is the meaning of life?”, what would it be?

I would like to know if Heaven is for real.

My religion and my faith tell me that it is.

Many books and stories that I have read and/or heard of include people who claim to have had near death experiences in which they visited the hereafter.

It works for me  to believe in Heaven because there are so many of my loved ones that left this world, some of them too soon that I miss so much. It brings me peace and comfort to believe that they are enjoying their afterlives in Heaven.

But, and this is a big but, I don’t know for sure. I try not to think about that, as the idea that death could be final and there is no Heaven scares me.

I get that the definition of faith is to believe in things that we cannot see.

However, the skeptic in me still questions and wonders if what I have been taught, what I have learned and what I have imagined about Heaven is real and true.

I want to believe the stories of those who claim to have visited and returned from Heaven because “it wasn’t their time yet.”

I want to believe the experiences that I have had that felt like signs from my loved ones who have died.

So though I would love to have more proof that “Heaven is for real,” I am content to believe that there is an afterlife and that my family and friends who have passed away are there.

I am hopeful that someday when I die I will get to be reunited with our daughter Molly and my grandparents, as well some dear friends and other loved ones whom I long to see and spend time with again.

The vision that I like to paint in my mind of what Heaven might be like is an amazing and wonderful place. I hope and pray that Heaven is real. But I also don’t want to find out anytime soon, as I want to live a long and healthy life here on Earth first.

If you could know the answer to any question, what would it be?

________________________________

Kathy Benson is a bereaved and blessed mom, writer and group fitness instructor trying to live mindfully and find joy in the journey after dealing with secondary infertility and loss for five years. She lives in Chicago, Illinois with her husband and two living children.

Kathy blogs at Bereaved and Blessed. You can also follow Kathy on Twitter @BereavedBlessed and her Facebook page.

2 thoughts on “Week Thirty-two: Kathy Benson

  1. Pingback: Winter Shed: Week Five

  2. Pingback: Thursday’s Voice: February

Leave a Reply

