Week Thirty-five: Bridget Scoville

photo

Who was the first person who died in your life and how did you feel?

My great grandma Kay was an amazing woman. She raised seven children (I think), and could remember the names and birthdays of every single one of her grandchildren, great grandchildren, and great great grandchildren. I in grade school when she passed away, but I still remember a few things. Most of the time, I saw her at Christmas time. It was craziness. Children running everywhere and every portion of her house filled with people. It was at the Scoville family Christmas where I first learned of the group Salt N Pepa and heard the song Shoop. I was lucky to have spent some time alone with my great grandma Kay because she agreed to help me with my school project. We were required to learn how to do something new that was related to the early 1900’s. I learned my great grandma Kay still knew how to make braided rugs. I spent a couple of weekends with her learning how to make a braided rug, and also learning that she knew all of the Jeopardy answers.

She was later diagnosed with a malignant brain tumor, which at the time of diagnosis was the size of a softball. She spent the rest of her days saying goodbye to many loved ones. After she passed, I attended her funeral with my family. I don’t remember too much about it, but I do remember thinking “Why aren’t people celebrating?” We had the opportunity to say goodbye, and she gets to go to heaven. In my mind at the time, we had no reason to be sad. She would have wanted us to be happy even when she was gone. She would have wanted us all to celebrate her life, remember the good times, and cherish the time with each other. Losing anyone close to you is extremely difficult, but it is always good to the memories that will last as long as you live.

What do you do to remember your loved ones that have passed?

____________________

Bridget Scoville is a pharmacist with a scholarly interest in the kidneys. She is completing a post-graduate research fellowship at the University of Michigan Ann Arbor. When she’s not working on research, Bridget can be found running, swapping stories over coffee, laughing with friends during dinner, or youth mentoring through Big Brothers Big Sisters.

Leave a Reply

