Week Thirty-seven: Brian B. Baker

BBaker

What was the first thing you bought with your own money?

When I was sixteen I got a job at McDonald’s. I had all these ideas about what I wanted to do with the money, but when the first check came, well…I was disappointed. That first paycheck was the first time I ever had money that was mine, not something for my birthday or my grandma had given me, it was something I earned because I worked, and I was proud of that.

When I was walking in the local mall there was this jacket a J.C. Penney that, when I saw it, I knew I wanted to spend my money on it.

It was the early nineties and Arizona Jean Company just came out, the jacket had that label on the back. It had suede sleeves and the rest of it was denim. I loved that jacket, it was the first thing I earned through my own work and it made me feel good to buy something with my own money.

I’m not sure where that jacket is now, it’s either in storage or we donated it, but I remember the feel of the jacket on my arms the first time I put it on, the smell of the leather and the heaviness of the denim.

I’ll always remember buying that jacket and how it made me feel important because I’d used my own money for it.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

2 thoughts on “Week Thirty-seven: Brian B. Baker

  1. Like you I can remember getting that first check and feeling somewhat disappointed. I also can relate to feeling a sense of accomplishment for being able to provide for myself. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Week Fifty: Brian B. Baker | The Today Voice

Leave a Reply

