Week Thirty-eight: Brian B. Baker

BBaker

When was the last time you were nervous?

I can count the times I’ve been truly nervous in my life using only my ten fingers.

  1. My wedding day.
  2. when I arrived at bootcamp.
  3. the birth of my kids–especially my daughter.
  4. The day I proposed to my wife, I thought she’s say no. The reason I thought that had a lot to do with my self-esteem at the time.
  5. The last time I talked to my dad on the phone, we haven’t talked since.
  6. When I met my wife’s parents.
  7. The two times my son has had surgery.
  8. Losing our house and having to look for a new place to live.
  9. Learning to write better, this is an ongoing thing.
  10. Meeting an agent and her family, that I’d only known through Twitter.

The last one was the most recent.

I’d followed this agent for a while on Twitter and saw that she was coming through Las Vegas with her son and husband. It may seem odd to her, but I was extremely nervous.

I only had one intention, to talk about my writing and ask her a few questions, which I got to do.

I’d sought her out to meet her, have lunch, talk about my writing and ask a few questions. I brought my kids as well, to make her feel more at ease.

She asked about my writing, what I was working on and I gave her my best elevator pitch.

She wanted to see it when it was ready, it’s in the third draft right now. I still want to work on it and make it better. It feels good, but it’s still not where I’m comfortable with her seeing it.

It was a learning experience for me and when I have a final draft ready she’ll be the first person I send it to.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

Leave a Reply

