Week Thirty-eight: Peter Combs

IMG_1484

When was the last time you were nervous?

When I originally read this question, I immediately understood it to mean “when was the last time something made you feel nervous” as opposed to “when was the last time you felt nervous”. Those are two different things and depending on how you interpret the question can lead to two very different answers. Ironically my nerves have been the topic of conversation in my household as of late, as I’m becoming more aware of how anxious I stay for the majority of the time. In most circumstances I find myself stressing over every little detail, allowing myself to get caught up in all of the little things that get “off track” when in reality there wasn’t a track to get off of in the first place; just my obsessive compulsive behavior trying to make everything have a rhyme and a reason. This is an overall problem that I am trying to address in a healthy way by going to therapy and working through some of my underlying issues, which I believe is playing a major role in how I feel. So, when was the last time I felt nervous? Like, 30 seconds ago.

The last time something caused me to become nervous was last Fall when I was responsible for a major error at my place of employment. It was a mistake that affected my entire team and brought with it an added stress to an already stressful season. I’m very lucky to have employers that did not leave me to face the outcome of mistake alone. But I’m not going to lie, during that time all I really wanted to do was hide my head in the sand and shut out the world. It’s hard to admit when you’re wrong, and it’s even harder to know that something you did on accident created extra work for others. It definitely was a growing experience for me; one that I am glad to have gone through, but never want to again (although I know that being human and all means that it’s likely that I’ll mess up a time or two in the future).

____________________

Peter Combs is a 28 year old husband, writer and former foster child. He currently lives with his wife, Renee, in Atlanta, Georgia. Peter is the author of the blog Home.

Leave a Reply

