Week Thirty-nine: Brian B. Baker

BBaker

How did you learn what it meant to be a man/woman?

This topic has come to mean different things in the last nine years since my son arrived, and my daughter five years later. The last year has been where I’ve made the greatest strides in self-discovery though.

I’ve always been looking for my way in the world, my humanity I guess, but the last year I’ve found who I am, what I like to write as well as what I enjoy; they go hand in hand.

But what I’ve discovered about myself in the last few months has made the biggest impact in my writing, my spirituality and how I navigate myself as a human, a man, a father and a dad.

I’d been looking for myself for a long time, longer than I’m comfortable with. What I’ve learned is that I didn’t understand who I was, why I was searching or why I even thought to search.

It’s the search for our humanity, our soul and what we should do with our lives that has been driving me the last few months. I’ve read a few books–some I’ve reviewed on my blog, here and here–I’ve also learned that I need to focus on what I want out of this life and where I want the next to go, as well as how I want to leave an impact on this life.

Discovering what it meant to be a man wasn’t as important to me as discovering what it meant to find my humanity, my purpose and what I believed.

These things have changed my life more than anything I’ve done have:

  • Finding my writing voice, I’m almost there.
  • Learning what it meant to be Buddhist.
  • Finding the right voice for my life.
  • Knowing that I don’t have control over all of it, but I can help others find theirs, and that’s more important to me.
  • Helping my kids find their path, and to let them know it’s okay to stray sometimes.
  • Our lives aren’t as long as we wish them to be. We can only get through it together, and help each along the way.

I’ve taken this path, not because it’s easy but because I’ll learn the most along the way and hopefully help others along the path.

I’ve learned what it means to be a human has greater meaning in the last year, and that has made an impact of my writing, my family life and my spirituality.

____________________

Brian B. Baker is an unpublished writer of Science Fiction/Fantasy and Horror. He’s been writing short stories since high school, and is certain it’s one of the few things that keeps him sane. Brian blogs at  The Bleeding Inkwell.

One thought on “Week Thirty-nine: Brian B. Baker

  1. Pingback: Week Fifty: Brian B. Baker | The Today Voice

Leave a Reply

