Week Forty: Bridget Scoville

photo

At your deepest level, what do you most want to know in your lifetime?

I most want to know what fuels people’s hate.

Hate for those who are different. Hate for change. I think conflict is an inevitable part of life, and when handled appropriately conflict can be beneficial. It can be educational. Actual hate has no beneficial attributes.

I am not always nice, but I am certainly not hateful. (Sure, the word will fly out of my mouth every now and then but it’s used more as a dislike not a true hate.) I try to be courteous and respectful of all. Although I believe not everyone I meet will like me, I do believe that everyone should be treated how I would want to be treated – with courtesy and respect.

While uncomfortable when we face change head on, we grow. We adapt, and we become that much better. This weekend in Michigan has felt like spring. Spring is a changing season, which got me thinking about the prompt this week. Think how beautiful things are in the spring. The flowers are blooming. The birds are chirping. We welcome spring with open arms after a brutal winter. Why can’t we be as accepting to other types of change as we are to the changing seasons?

I’ve noticed a lot of hurtful stories in the media lately all fueled by the hate for anything different and the hate for change.

While I like to think of the world as filled with rainbows and butterflies, I realize that it’s not. Learning what fuels the fire would give me the chance to learn how to dampen it.

“By changing nothing, nothing changes.” – Tony Robbins

____________________

Bridget Scoville is a pharmacist with a scholarly interest in the kidneys. She is completing a post-graduate research fellowship at the University of Michigan Ann Arbor. When she’s not working on research, Bridget can be found running, swapping stories over coffee, laughing with friends during dinner, or youth mentoring through Big Brothers Big Sisters.

2 thoughts on “Week Forty: Bridget Scoville

  1. SO touched by this. Inspired by you, B, and so grateful you’ve joined us here. Your writing is more powerful than you know.

Leave a Reply

